I took a little break from blogging yesterday because I was in mental and physical recovery mode. I havent run all out like that in a while, and it definitely took a bigger toll then I had originally anticipated. Sunday night we watched football at our apartment and the Jets lost ๐Ÿ˜ฆ On the bright side, we did have pizza and breadsticks so maybe it almost equaled out. kind of.

Monday I woke up feeling a little sore but thought I could still maybe get a decent workout in. I started my day off with cheerios and a banana

Fascinating, isnt it?

Now, when I went to workout, my legs felt like lead. I knew there was no way I could do anything hardcore so I ended up doing some speed walking on the treadmill for an hour. I was also starving yesterday and I was kind of munching on various things throughout the day (wheat thins, animal crackers, chex mix) Is it just me or am I never really that hungry the day I run hard…but the day after? Forget about it, my appetite turns beastly.

I was excited to come home and veg on the couch with some DVR. I made myself a turkey and cheese sandwich on a wheat thin with alot of peppers

Ice cream was had as well…but I kind of gobbled it down before I could take a picture, oops!

My weight is up a bit, I really think my muscles are going through overtime on the repair front…I’m sure its just water retention. But i’m always fascinated that it happens to me after my races. My legs STILL felt a little on the sore side this morning so I decided to do a spinning class instead of any running. I also did 20 minutes of weight lifting. I’m gonna finally try and get out for a run tomorrow, no speedwork or anything, just an easy one (i hope!)

On a sad note…and I dont mean to be a Debbie Downer or anything…but this kept me thinking for alot of last night. There was a man that works at my company…I never knew him very well. He used to go to Ballys when I was a member years ago and so we would see each other and wave or smile. He seemed like a really nice guy. It was reported to us yesterday that he was killed in a motorcycle accident Sunday afternoon on the NJ Turnpike. I cant even explain to you the sadness that I felt when I had heard the news. It was like the wind was knocked out of me. He had just turned 33 years old last week and he was engaged as well. It always breaks my heart when I hear about people that are so young and taken away too soon. I hope that he is at peace where he is and I pray for his family and friends that I am sure are in a deep state of mourning ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was talking to Kevin about it and it also just made me think if anything ever happened to him…I just dont know what I would do. My heart goes out so much to his fiance. I am sure we all feel the same about our loved ones. This was a sad tragedy..

I hope this wasnt too depressing of a post. I promise I’ll go back to talking about unicorns, lollipops and running in my next one ๐Ÿ˜‰

Does a race take out of you worse physically or mentally? How much recovery time do you usually give yourself?

Are you as starving as I am after doing hard workouts?

Do sad stories like this affect you much even if you didnt know the person that well? It always does for me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

 

