Tags

,

I hope you enjoyed my top ten list over the past two days because I really enjoyed speaking about them. Its been an odd couple of weeks but I’m finally feeling back in my groove and I have a positive outlook about everything. I love being in this frame of mind. I admit, there were some birthdays where I felt this impending doom (thats my complete overdramatic self talking!) but i’m in this zone where I am welcoming this birthday with open arms!

This morning started out great when I got some good news about some tests from the doctor. I was worried about it for a while but I was trying NOT to think about it. Anyways, the outlook is good and I’m glad i’ve made the decisions I did when it comes to doctors. I had a crazy day at work but I did a very easy 5 mile run on my lunch break. I was trying to get stuff together so I can have everything go according to plan for the next two days. This included being on a strict schedule as soon as I got home to do the following:

Shower

Go to the bank and make a deposit

Go to Target

Go to the supermarket and pick up everything you need for baking/prepping tomorrow

Go out to dinner with Kevin at Houlihans

Come home, walk Nacho and give him a bath

Make sauce for the eggplant rollatini on Saturday

Finally relax and go to sleep

Okay, maybe I am a little bit of a control freak, but I’m attempting to be as productive as possible so that I can truly enjoy my saturday evening with great friends and my amazing family. Sue me šŸ˜‰ We were on time with everything, I showered, went to the bank and target and food shopping in record time. I was glad to sit down and breathe a little bit for dinner. We went to Houlihans because I’ve been receiving an enormous amount of coupons for my birthday in the past couple of days and this was one of them. I was gifted with a free entree. Me and Kev have a running joke about Houlihans because he isnt too impressed with them and I love them. I’ve kind of had to drag him there for the past two years but oh well…the crazy things you do for love!

We started off with Asian lettuce wraps as an appetizer

IMG 2450

Ohhh boy were these good. Peanut chicken with seasoned veggies, crispy wonton strips, peanuts and dressing. I was starving and downed three of these babies. I was still so hungry when the entrees came I forgot to take a picture! I told you guys i’m a complete monster when it comes to eating sometimes, haha! I had half a southwest chicken wrap with a side salad and Kev had chicken fajitas with a side of rice and beans. We were so full when we were done that we were just ready to hit the road.

We came home, walked Nacho and began to give him a bath. Let me warn you about how Nacho reacts to getting baths. He shivers and acts complete terrified. As exemplified below:

IMG 2451

IMG 2456

He eventually faces his fears over the big bad relaxing warm water and someone pampering him šŸ˜‰

After that was over with, Me and Kev went to work on prepping the sauce. Um…it mostly involved Kevin chopping and me putting a pot on the stove.

IMG 2458

Ā 

This recipe is from Giada De Laurentiis from Foodnetwork.com

In a largeĀ casserole pot, heat oil over medium high heat. Add onion and garlic and saute until soft and translucent, about 5 to 10 minutes. Add celery andĀ carrots and season with salt and pepper. Saute until all the vegetables are soft, about 5 to 10 minutes. Add tomatoes and bay leaves andĀ simmer uncovered on low heat for 1 hour or until thick. Remove bay leaves and check for seasoning. If sauce still tastes acidic, addĀ unsalted butter, 1 tablespoon at a time to round out the flavors.

Add 1/2 the tomato sauce into the bowl of aĀ food processor. Process until smooth. Continue with remainingĀ tomato sauce.

If not using all the sauce, allow it to cool completely and pour 1 to 2 cup portions into freezer plastic bags. This will freeze up to 6 months.

Yield: 6 cups

So we began by sauteing the onion and garlic in olive oil

IMG 2459

Then we added the other veggies

IMG 2460

Then we added the tomatoes

IMG 2461

We let it simmer for an hour, stirring occasionally. I took the bay leaves out and added 2 tablespoons of butter. i then pureed it in the food processor. It came out pretty delish if I may say so myself (and its vegetarian!)

IMG 2462

I’m really excited to see how this second batch of eggplant rollatini comes out!

In other news, I will be superwoman tomorrow and work a half day, then come home to run, shower, prep the pie crusts, get my hair done, then come home to clean/make pies/prep other things. Wish me luck, i’ll totally need it!

Have you ever made sauce from scratch? What is your favorite recipe!

Do you get a little stressed about your birthday or do you go with the flow?


