Tags

, , , ,

Let me preface this by saying its going to be a doozy of a post!

I really wanted to blog while everything was going on this weekend but I was seriously running around like a chicken with her head cut off. Friday I took a half day from work to get my hair done. I came home and ran 9 miles which was my first long run since the half last sunday. My legs felt great and i’m glad I cut back a lot on mileage last week. I showered and went to get my hair done and while I love how my hair came out…I didnt love being stuck in the salon for 5 hours. The girl doing my hair was really nice but it just took forever…and she wasnt the most gentle with my hair. Suffice to say I might not be trying that salon again. I was visibly annoyed by the time she was done because I expected to be home by 730 so that I could bake the pies for saturday night and do more prepwork to make Saturday less stressful and I didnt get home until almost 10! After huffing and puffing around the house with my animals looking on in bewilderment..I got the pies done and they looked great. I made a pumpkin pie and an apple pie, both courtesy of Paula Deen…which obviously makes them the healthiest creations in the world right? šŸ™‚

IMG 2469

After the hair and pie ordeal, it was well after midnight and officially my birthday. I told Kev i’d love to go out for a birthday nightcap and he kindly obliged. We ended up getting to see some of our good friends out and about and it was a really fun way to end the night.

IMG 2470

We woke up at 7:30 am the next morning to get to the gym which was amazing considering how late we got to bed. I dont know how I sometimes function on no sleep, but its never been an issue for me. I do try and sleep as much as I can though! This was Kev’s first time getting into the gym since he signed up and not gonna lie, it was adorable having him follow me around the gym trying to figure out what to do. We both got good workouts in and we rushed to drive up to my parents house because we still had a lot of prep-work to do before everyone was coming over at 4 pm. I had invited Kevins family and some of my friends over to my parents house for a nice dinner and then I was having more friends come over for drinks afterwards so Saturday was again, running around like crazy. I was helping my parents with the cooking so I kept plenty busy. The end results was worth it though, we had plenty of amazing food so prepare yourself to have your stomachs grumble just a little bit šŸ˜‰

IMG 2472

This was a guacamole tostada recipe that I found in my New York Times cookbook and it was SO good. A layer of pulsed spicy beans, then mashed avocado mixed with lime juice, then tomatoes, then a layer of cumin/chili sour cream, layer of chopped olives, layer of sharp white cheddar and then a layer of scallions. It could feed an army but we all made a big dent into it. My dad also fried yuca with salad and I made hot cheese olives (I promise i’ll post the recipe here soon!)

IMG 2473IMG 2474

IMG 2483

It was great getting to have both me and Kevins families together for my birthday, I couldnt have asked for better company. After all the apps were done, dinner was served..

My dads infamous arroz con gandules!

IMG 2484

Salad of course

IMG 2485

Spinach and artichoke casserole

IMG 2486

Asparagus “stuffed” rice

IMG 2487

Ā 

Pernil (pork)

IMG 2488

Ā 

A chicken dish my dad concocted

IMG 2490

Sausage and peppers

IMG 2489

My eggplant rollatini šŸ™‚ which came out MUCH better this time around, yay!

IMG 2491

Ā 

anddd Broccoli!

IMG 2492

Ā 

Yeah, we obviously didnt have enough food.

As if that wasnt enough, we moved onto dessert. Kevins mom graciously made her famous chocolate chip cookies. Im starting to think she might be sprinkling a little crack in there, because its seriously so good!

IMG 2494

My pies!

IMG 2496

And an enormous carrot cake from my favoritest bakery in the world!

IMG 2497

IMG 2501

Some people were too miserably full from dinner for dessert but we had plenty of troopers in the room šŸ™‚ Everything was phenomenal!

IMG 2509

me and my pops šŸ™‚

I was cheesin it the whole night long…I love my birthday especially because I get to see alot of friends I dont get to see much throughout the year. Its really really wonderful to catch up with everyone.

Needless to say it was another late night, but I woke up early to help my mom clean and so that me and Kev could get home to clean our apartment that we had been neglecting due to the insane pace of the weekend. We were having people over to watch the Jets game again and we wanted to make sure we got cleaning and food shopping done quickly so we could semi-relax for the rest of the day!

I had leftover dried pinto beans so I decided to make the same dip that I had made for my party!

IMG 2514

IMG 2516

Served with scoops tortilla chips this time for maximum effectiveness šŸ˜‰

This recipe is from my New York Times cookbook and I lightened it up a little by using light sour cream, but its really delicious, I promise!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup dried pinto beans
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 large clove garlic, pressed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons mild pure chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 ounces tomato paste
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander seed
  • 8 drops hot pepper sauce
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 chopped large tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup chopped scallions
  • 1 cup pitted chopped black olives
  • 2 cups coarsely grated sharp white Cheddar cheese
  • 2/3 cup coarsely chopped fresh coriander
  • Good quality tortilla chips

PREPARATION

1.
To prepare beans either cover with water and soak overnight or cover with water and bring to a boil; boil 2 minutes and allow to sit in water for 1 hour. After soaking beans, drain off soaking water. Cover beans with fresh water and cover pot. Bring to boil. Add 1/2 cup chopped onion, garlic, 1/2 teaspoon cumin. Cover and simmer until beans are tender, about 1 hour. Drain.
2.
Place beans in food processor with 3/4 teaspoon cumin, 1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder, vinegar, butter, tomato paste, coriander and hot pepper sauce. Process until mixture is smooth. Adjust seasoning and add salt and pepper to taste.
3.
Peel avocados and mash coarsely with lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste.
4.
Mix sour cream with 1 tablespoon chili powder, 1/4 teaspoon cumin.
5.
Chop tomatoes.
6.
To serve, place a layer of the bean mixture in a shallow serving dish. Top with mashed avocados, then with sour cream mixture. Sprinkle tomatoes evenly over sour cream; sprinkle on scallions, olives and cheese and top with fresh coriander.
7.
Serve with tortilla chips.
YIELD
16 servings
  • NOTE

    The beans may be cooked a day or two ahead and mixed with seasonings. Remaining ingredients, with the exception of the avocado, may be prepared early on the day of the party. No earlier than an hour before the avocado can be mashed and the dish put together


The Jets lost to the Patriots unfortunately but we still had a good time. We finally got meet our friend Michele’s newborn, Lyra!

IMG 2517

She was beautiful and we were both ecstatic to get to spend time with the both of them.

I told you it was a jam packed weekend…I got some AMAZING gifts as well!

IMG 2520

Jets pillow pet from Kev šŸ˜‰ I’ve been begging him for a pillow pet for forever! He also gave me a running GPS

IMG 2525

Which I tried out for the first time on my run on Monday, and it was really interesting, I think I’ll definitely be able to maximize my workouts with this.

IMG 2522

lots of gift cards to the running store near us, which is good considering I go through running shoes like no one’s business.

IMG 2523

more hello kitty to add to my collection!

IMG 2528

This amazing hello kitty bag that my friends gave me…which was stuffed with wings cookbooks, nutella, pb scented stickers, you know, just all of my favoritest things in one bag. What more could a girl really ask for?

IMG 2527

perfume from my sister šŸ™‚ much needed!

I got so many more things but figured that you guys are already probably tired of reading this long post so I’m gonna wrap things up. This birthday weekend made me feel truly blessed because I have the best friends and family ever and I’m so happy I got to spend it with them šŸ™‚

And now back to our regularly scheduled programming…a little bit of indulgence this weekend but I’m back on track and this week is gonna be a good one!

Are you as big of a fan of dips as I am? I’m always a sucker for them!

Do you hate getting your hair done as much as I do? This experience nearly traumatized me!

Whats YOUR favorite kind of cake? Obviously mine is carrot šŸ˜‰


