Tags

, ,

Ahhhhh, I was having some technical difficulties with actually being able to charge my computer. This made it difficult to actually post to the blog so thats why I’ve had a little bit of downtime here. Hopefully this issue is no longer going to happen so lets just move on 😦

Thursday morning my workout was a 5 mile easy run. I was really excited for that night because I was finally going to be able to spend some time with Kevin. We decided to cook dinner together but couldnt exactly decide what we wanted to eat. Dont you hate when that happens? I wanted fish and he wanted steak. So we made separate entrees and shared the side dishes. I made a cajun salmon sandwich with goat cheese lemon mayo and he made grilled steak. I made a salad with my own homemade balsamic vinegarette and roasted broccoli with red pepper and garlic. YUM! Sometimes its hard to convince your significant other to eat healthy but luckily Kevin is always a good sport!

IMG 2531

IMG 2533

IMG 2534

IMG 2535

IMG 2540

In case you were wondering, here is the recipe for the salmon. it was delicious and really easy to make! The recipe is courtesy of foodnetwork.com

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces salmon
  • 2 tablespoons Seafood Cajun seasoning, recipe follows
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 ciabatta roll
  • Goat Cheese and Lemon Mayonnaise, recipe follows
  • 2 to 3 leaves green leaf lettuce
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced thin
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced thin

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

 

Season salmon with Seafood Cajun Seasoning. In a medium saute pan, saute salmon in butter on medium-high heat, fat side down, until golden brown. Using a metal spatula turn salmon over and cook until golden brown. Transfer salmon onto a sizzle plate or small sheet tray and place in oven for 4 to 6 minutes. Remove from oven and let rest.

 

Slice ciabatta roll lengthwise and place under broiler until lightly golden. Spread Goat Cheese and Lemon Mayonnaise on roll. Arrange salmon, lettuce, tomatoes and onions on roll.

Seafood Cajun Seasoning:

  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons granulated garlic
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon gumbo file
  • 1 teaspoon crab boil seasoning, optional (recommended: Old Bay) if using cut salt to 1/2 tablespoon

In a medium bowl, combine cayenne pepper, kosher salt, paprika, black pepper, garlic, onion powder, gumbo file and crab boil seasoning.

Goat Cheese and Lemon Mayonnaise:

  • 3 ounces goat cheese
  • 4 ounces mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 3 sprigs parsley
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

In a medium bowl, mix goat cheese, mayonnaise, lemon juice, parsley, salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste.

We stayed in and watched DVR. Perfect thursday 🙂

I got up early on Friday to go to spinning and I got to see my old favorite spinning instructor from my old gym! I was really excited because his workouts really kick my booty and OH did it ever. Spinning is such a great workout, I cant even tell you how happy I am to have it back in my life now.

I had a coupon to a restaurant in New Brunswick called Old Bay for my birthday so thats where me and Kev went to dinner on Friday. It was really loud so it was kind of hard to even talk over dinner but we had a really nice time. I ended up crashing early because I was BEAT from waking up at  5 am all week long.

I got up early for a long run on saturday morning. It was glorious fall weather in full swing. Windy, cool and not a cloud in the sky. 11 miles went by like nothing. I also got to bust out my favorite long sleeved shirt for fall running. I use it as a base layer for winter running but for slightly cooler weather, I use this by itself and its awesome. The material is super soft, It keeps me warm and cools me down at the same time. The sleeves are super easy to roll up and there is a zipper halfway down the shirt to enable some breathing room if I end up needing it. I can say its hands down one of my favorite running purchases!

IMG 2541

Thumbs up!

We had alot to do on Saturday in terms of cleaning and cooking because we were having my parents over for dinner. It was perfect timing because I always invite my parents down on saturday and Kevin is working so this time we were all actually able to spend time together!

We made homemade potato skins, these babies were amazing. We rubbed the potatoes in olive oil and salt before baking and the skins were delicious!

IMG 2544

We also made wings from scratch (from the lovely wings cookbook I received for my birthday) and they were pretty good too!

IMG 2549

I look sooo messy, you’d think I wouldve run a brush through my hair for my parents or something…

IMG 2548

I love getting to hang out with my parents 🙂 Seriously, its one of my favorite activities. We played a rousing game of scattergories. I realized how much I sucked at the game and how much of a BSer my sister is. I wish you couldve heard some of the ridiculous answers that she came out with, lol. Caroline and Ron came over and joined the game eventually. It was a chill but awesome night.

We got up early to head to New Hope on Sunday. First on the docket was breakfast. Diner breakfasts are kind of a must if you live in NJ and luckily, we have a great one right around the corner from us 🙂 I had a chicken caesar wrap with french fries and Kevin had the pancakes. He likes to make smiley faces…

IMG 2552

I dont even know how to describe New Hope except that its a really quirky town filled with alot of fun shops and restaurants. We walked around for most of the day just taking in the beautiful day. I did end up buying a pretty awesome Budweiser Beer Stein for our china closet which I will take a picture of eventually, I’m incredibly lazy 😉

IMG 2553

IMG 2556

IMG 2562

IMG 2563

IMG 2568

IMG 2570

IMG 2573

IMG 2575

IMG 2577

P.S. Does anyone remember the Bernstein Bears?!?! I had so many of these books when I was little and I was super excited to see this in the bookstore. Too bad I couldnt find the Velveteen Rabbit because I totally wouldve bought it 😉

We came home and went over to Kevins friends Rons house for dinner and football and it was a really good Sunday! I was grateful for my 3 day weekend though because I have off today so I was able to sleep in a little bit. I am heading out soon to run 7 easy miles in another day of beautiful fall weather. I LOVE it!! I promise I wont leave you guys for so long again…I’m looking forward to catching up on some blog reading today!

Do you love hanging out with your parents as much as I do?

What were some of YOUR favorite childhood books?

Whats your favorite weather to run in? 🙂


