Tags

, ,

Its been a crazy busy two days so my apologies for the late post!

Yesterday was Runners World “National married to a runner appreciation Day” which I find incredibly adorable and mentioned it to Kev last year too:

Kevin is an amazing supporter and I’m incredibly lucky to have him in my life. He knows how important running is to me and he is always encouraging. He cooks for me all the time after my runs and fetches me water at my beck and call. He makes sure he is free any race that I’ve had and hes up bright and early with me, cheering me on through every race. He listens to me babble on for hours about running and running apparel and nutrition and pretends to actually be interested…He’s incredible 🙂 We aren’t married but I still love mentioning this fun little appreciation day to him. Love love love my man!

I woke up late for my workout yesterday…6 am instead of the intended 5:30 am. This meant I cut down my 7 mile run on the treadmill to 6 miles…no biggie. It felt pretty easy so now I know that egg salad is decent fuel!

I tried out my new Texmex trail mix from Target and i’m pleased to say it is pretty spicy and delicious:

IMG 0544

I also was pleased to have a sundried tomato tuna sandwich on a sammich thin…i love this stuff!

IMG 0545

Seriously, give this baby a try next time you are in the mood for tuna, you wont be disappointed.

We were lucky enough that Kev had off last night and we decided to make a nice, simple dinner at home.

We made turkey sloppy joes. Classy! I simply browned ground turkey and mixed it with a can of manwich. It was ridiculously complicated and difficult. I’m a super gourmet chef 😉 I had mine on a sandwich thin and Kev had his on a Kaiser roll. For the sides, I roasted some asparagus with parmesan and I made a spinach, roasted red onion, goat cheese and pecan salad. I also made a Citrus dressing to go with it. The meal was easy and delicious:

IMG 2652

 

IMG 2653

IMG 2654

Here is the recipe for the salad if you are interested. Kevin wasnt a big fan of the dressing but i enjoyed it! I got it from foodnetwork.com:

Ingredients

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

 

Slice the onion into thin wedges, through the root end. Toss with the olive oil, season with salt, to taste, and spread out on a baking sheet. Roast until just soft and brown, about 20 minutes. Set aside to cool.

 

Put the spinach and onions in a large bowl. Drizzle with some of the dressing and toss. Add more dressing as needed; spinach should just be lightly coated. Divide salad among 4 chilled plates. Top with pecans, goat cheese, and dried cranberries. Serve immediately.

 

Copyright 2005 Television Food Network, G.P. All rights reserved.

Citrus Dressing:

  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon honey, plus more to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Whisk the lemon zestlemon juiceorange juice, Dijon, honey, thyme, and salt in a medium bowl until well combined. Gradually whisk in the oil, starting with a few drops and then adding the rest in a steady stream, to make a smooth, slightly thick dressing.

 

Yield: about 1/2 cup

I dont get to spend a lot of time with Kevin because we have opposite schedules. I work from 8:30-5:30 and he usually doesnt go into work until 5 or 6. I’m usually in bed by the time he gets home and I dont really get to see him, so most weeks we only get to spend Thursday night/Saturday afternoon/Sunday together. It gets really frustrating sometimes. We appreciate any extra time that we have with each other but we seriously cant wait until we get onto similar schedules. Weekends off together would be amazing alone!

We had dinner and lazed on the couch watching Boardwalk Empire and Dexter. Not a bad night at all.

I woke up early and ran 6.5 easy miles on the treadmill. I was definitely cursing my alarm clock when I woke up though. 😉

It was rainy and cold today and it completely reminded me that I realllllyyy need a new winter jacket ASAP. This weather is crazyness!

I asked Kevin this morning if he’d be down with sushi for dinner and voila! he did. We are seriously on the same wavelength 99% of the time..I love it 🙂

IMG 2655

IMG 2656

IMG 2657

So delicious and soooooo full…such a good dinner 🙂

 

Guys, is it sad that I’m not that excited for Halloween this year? I wish I could say that I had some fun plans but I still have no idea what i’m doing. Sadface. All I know is a bag of candy is probably in my near future. But seriously, is that different from normal?

What is YOUR favorite takeout dinner?

Sushi, hands down.

Any exciting plans for your Halloween weekend?

Are you gonna celebrate national married to a runner appreciation day? 😉


 

 

