Tags

, , ,

Where does the time fly to? I find myself with yet another weekend where I had no time to blog. I need to learn time management a little better huh? Be prepared for a lot of food pictures in this post šŸ˜‰ Dont say I didnt warn you!

I took a half day from work on Friday so as soon as I got home, I grabbed my running shoes and headed out to run 13.5 miles…it was beautiful weather and then run went by rather smoothly. I was a little worried about how sore my foot was earlier in the week but I was diligent with my massaging and icing and it seems to be doing a lot better, thankfully.

IMG 2706

I figured that the calories I burned were going to be nonexistent once I ate 20 pounds of cheese later on šŸ˜‰ I had to rush around a bit to get ready by the time I was finished but at least I had fuel in the form of a PB/nutella/banana sandwich.

IMG 2708

Which tasted awesome, dont get me wrong…but I think it was too much fat for my stomach to handle at the time, I got a little nauseous right after I ate it. Eventually I was fine but lesson learned. I’m never really hungry right after I finish my runs so I always find it a little tricky figuring out how to refuel. Would a gallon of chocolate milk suffice?

I finally headed up north to spend the night at Demas apartment for her birthday. It was an absolute blast. It gets harder and harder to make time to hang out with friends as you get older, especially when you live in different towns and have different schedules, boyfriends, etc. I love our group of girlfriends, which is a crazy mixture of friends from childhood, high school and college. When you involve alot of food and alot of wine, it makes for the best night ever:

IMG 2709

IMG 2710

IMG 2714

IMG 2716

IMG 2717

IMG 2720

IMG 2724

IMG 2722

First of all, this is one of those VERY rare moments where Nina was tricked into taking pictures, SUCKA! and its not a random dude in those pictures, its Demas boyfriend Frank, he was an honorary girl for the night. Dont ask how I caught the silly moment of Demas head in his lap, just laugh and find comfort in not knowing whats really going on there! This night even came complete with a ridiculous game of truth or dare. I wish I had taken more pictures but Nina has more of the fun/incriminating pictures on her phone, I’ll have to think about ever posting them up on here šŸ˜‰

P.S. yes, we are a little obsessed with our pillow pets if you couldnt tell from the pictures.

The next morning everyone went to the diner for breakfast but Nina had work and I had to attend a lunch for Kevins cousins 40th birthday so I headed back early.

I miraculously squeezed in an hour of elliptical at the gym but then had to rush home to get ready and get going. I barely had eaten anything by that point (which I never do, I’m actually very good at getting in my 3 meals a day, otherwise its way too easy to fall off track in my opinion…) so I was starving to say the least. Which was not a bad thing considering we were in for a 20 course meal. I apologize if some of these plates look bare, its because I was too busy inhaling food to take a picture. This is a problem I always have…its sad.

IMG 2725

IMG 2726

IMG 2728

IMG 2729

IMG 2730

IMG 2731

IMG 2733

IMG 2727

Ahem, before you get frightened at the amount of food I just posted, rest assured it was a family style lunch, so those portions were for everyone and I didnt eat everything (okay, maybe around 95% of things) I liked to use the excuse that I had run for a while the day before but I knew it was because I hadnt eaten all day and I was still feeling a little fuzzy from all the wine the night before. Not every weekend will be perfect, but as long as I try for the most part, I’m fine with maintaining. Kevins family is awesome company and we had a blast. I was chitchatting with his cousin about running and about how much weight I had lost..I was in my element for a bit. I glow whenever I get to talk about fitness and running and my accomplishments. I sometimes forget how crazy my story can seem to people who have never heard it before. I do like to spread the word that it is possible to lose weight all on your own–without surgery and without diet pills. It just takes patience, determination and willpower. Anything is possible my friends!

We got home and I decided to treat myself to one of my favoritest beers EVER:

IMG 2735

Some of this paired with Sex and the City DVDs made it a very good end to an already good day. Nina came down to hang out and my brother actually came down as well. It was good to hang out with him…he’s alot of fun, as long as he’s in good spirits.

Me and Kev felt a little off when we woke up on sunday because of Daylight Savings! We woke up earlier then usual and went about our errands (we had people coming over at 1 pm to watch the Jets vs. Bills game) but it felt like the morning was completely dragging. I was joking that it mightve just been in anticipation of the game considering we were just coming off of a BYE week but Daylight Savings always kind of has that affect on me. It was yet another day filled with food! Me and Kev made potato skins:

IMG 2739

Now that I know how to make decent potato skins, it makes me really happy because these are delicious.

First we rub the potatoes with olive oil and sea salt…then we stick them in the oven at 300 degrees for an hour and a half.

Then we follow this recipe that I had seen at allrecipes.com:

  • 4 large baking potatoes, baked
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 8 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 4 green onions, sliced

Directions

  1. Cut potatoes in half lengthwise; scoop out pulp, leaving a 1/4-in. shell (save pulp for another use). Place potatoes skins on a greased baking sheet. Combine oil, Parmesan cheese, salt, garlic powder, paprika and pepper; brush over both sides of skins. Bake at 475 degrees F for 7 minutes; turn. Bake until crisp, about 7 minutes more. Sprinkle bacon and cheddar cheese inside skins. Bake 2 minutes longer or until the cheese is melted. Top with sour cream and onions. Serve immediately.

We do use light sour cream and put it on the side…these have great flavor to them. Starches are also awesome fuel for me for running so I knew my monday run would be a good one. Maybe the fact that we had these next carbs on the menu helped a little bit too!

IMG 2736

Ā 

IMG 2737

Our friend Will made lasagna with garlic bread…it was really delicious!

Me and Kev also decided to make our own wings from scratch. These were marinated in cajun seasoning for a couple of hours and then we fried them in our deep fryer. We then tossed half in honey BBQ sauce and the other half in HOT buffalo wing sauce. The end result was pretty excellent:

IMG 2740

That boy absolutely knows the key to my heart!

I just wanna say that I know I feature a decent mix of healthy and unhealthy food…but I dont like to deprive myself because that leads to disordered eating for me. When it comes to special occasions and football sundays, I’ll let myself have a bit of everything. I will tell you time and time again that you simply cannot diet for the rest of your life. You need to learn to enjoy the foods you love in moderation!

On a side note, yay, the Jets defeated the Bills!

Today is back on track for me šŸ™‚ I got to sleep at a decent time last night and woke up feeling pretty rested. Still feeling the affects of Daylight Savings šŸ˜‰ Now is the time that its pitch dark outside by the time I get home, sadface. I didnt let that deter me from getting my 7.5 miles in tonight, which was a nice, speedy, and strong one thanks to the foodfest this weekend!

Time for this girl to get to bed.

How was your weekend? anything fun?

Do you have a set plan of how you eat everyday? Do you just go by how you feel?

Whens the last time you played a rousing game of Truth or Dare? šŸ™‚


