Tags

,

I finally woke up feeling okay this morning. My throat was a little scratchy but that was it! Huzzah! The problem was that it was only 32 degrees out at that time so I went back and forth about whether I was going to take my chances and run outside…I missed it! Honestly, I look forward to my saturday long runs all week so I really did not want to do it on the treadmill considering how beautiful it was outside. Sunny, windy, perffect fall weather!

I invested in cold weather running gear last year and it was the best move I’ve ever made. The pieces that I have bought work fantastically and enable me to keep running even in the dead of winter. The coldest run I went on last year it was around 10 degrees and my shot blocks almost froze in my pocket..but I still felt good πŸ™‚

IMG 2784

Reflectors galore! In temperatures under 40 degrees, I wear my Under Armour tights, thick knee length running socks, my nike half zip base layer, and my Road Runner wind/waterproof jacket. I also have a nike hat and nike gloves that I wear as well. I decided against the hat today, but stuck the gloves in my pocket just in case I needed them.

IMG 2785

Which I’m glad I did because there were definitely points that I needed them πŸ˜‰ Usually I’ll wear these on the first 5-10 mins of the run until I warm up and then stick them into my pockets, they definitely keep your hands toasty!

My new Brooks held up pretty well…the toebox on these are a little weird, but I’m not entirely sure if I just need to break them in a little bit more. I guess only time will tell right πŸ™‚

On a side note, is it completely weird that I still use mapmyrun.com to map my runs even though I own a garmin? I’m anal but I like to completely plan out my route before I even go out. I’m not sure if its a little off or if its my garmin, but the run I had mapped was supposed to be 10.5 and it ended up being exactly 11 miles…oops! I felt a little crappy in the beginning of it because my chest was adjusting to the chill but I felt pretty good by the time I had gotten home. Success!

Kevin made me an egg beater/pork roll/pepper jack sandwich on a sandwich thin for afterwards…paired with some chocolate milk and it was perfection πŸ™‚

Kevin had to go to work early so I had most of the day to myself. I caught up on DVR and then when Nina came down we went to go see Puss in Boots at the movies. It was cute, although I was hoping it’d be a little funnier.

IMG 2786

We decided against IMAX or 3D and just saw the normal version. I had heard the 3D version was not worth the money anyways.

I was starving by the time we got out so we headed to Wawa and picked up sandwiches. I had honey turkey and pepper jack (obsessed much?) with tons of peppers. I tried out the Blue Moon Winter Ale as well:

IMG 2787

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m just not a huge fan of winter ales. I’m a MUCH bigger fan of fall ales (and pumpkin ales, yum!) oh well..until next year I suppose 😦

Hope everyone has a great Saturday night!

Do you run outside during the winter? Whats your strategy of layering?

Whats the last movie you’ve seen in the theatres?


