Tags

,

Sunday was a day that was filled with baking, ahhh one of my favorite kind of days!

Kevins sister had invited us over to her house for dinner later that day so I wanted to make something to bring for dessert. Kevin had left early in the morning to head there because he was helping his brother-in-law set the base for a shed that he was installing. He was a hard little worker allll day…as was I, in a different way 😉 I started off with making a pumpkin pie:

IMG 2789

IMG 2791

IMG 2792

I’ve made this recipe before but had made my own crust the first time around. In order to save time and hassle I just decided to use a pre-made crust. It was still absolutely delicious! Paula Deen’s recipes are usually crazy with the sugar/butter but this one isnt too bad:

Ingredients

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups canned pumpkin, mashed
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg plus 2 egg yolks, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, optional
  • 1 piece pre-made pie dough
  • Whipped cream, for topping

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

For the filling, in a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese with a hand mixer. Add the pumpkin and beat until combined. Add the sugar and salt, and beat until combined. Add the eggs mixed with the yolks, half-and-half, and melted butter, and beat until combined. Finally, add the vanilla, cinnamon, and ginger, if using, and beat until incorporated.

Pour the filling into the warm prepared pie crust and bake for 50 minutes, or until the center is set. Place the pie on a wire rack and cool to room temperature. Cut into slices and top each piece with a generous amount of whipped cream.

Super easy! This one is a little different from “traditional” pumpkin pie. I would describe it almost like a pumpkin mousse. Its creamy but its been a big hit each time I’ve made it…last night was no exception 😉

Now, I had promised Nina I would make her pumpkin pancakes. I figured this was as good of a time as any considering I already had an open can of pumpkin just lying around! I used this recipe off of allrecipes.com…I substituted regular flour for whole wheat flour since I had a lot on hand and figured these would pack a nice little nutritional punch. The whole wheat made the texture of these interesting but me and Nina thought these came out absolutely delicious!

IMG 2793

IMG 2794

IMG 2795

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a bowl, mix together the milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vinegar. Combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, cinnamon, ginger and salt in a separate bowl. Stir into the pumpkin mixture just enough to combine.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

I used all the batter and was able to freeze the leftovers. I’m excited to heat those babies up for breakfast eventually!

The last thing I worked on was a batch of peanut butter brownies…these were not as easy as the pumpkin pie persay, but the end result was worth it!

IMG 2797

IMG 2798

IMG 2799

IMG 2800

We had a lot leftover of the brownies, so I’m going to make Kevin take them to work so I dont stuff my face with them over the next few days! PB + Chocolate = HEAVEN to me!

Dinner was excellent, I’m a sucker for turkey dinners! Plus, i’m always super happy to spend time with Kevins family…they are all amazing people and I love them all to death 🙂

The day was long, so we were all pretty tired by the time we got back to the apartment. We watched the Jets play the Patriots and the end result was well…not so good. No one ever said that it is easy being a Jets fan!

Monday went by rather slowly. I decided to split my run into two since I didnt feel like running in the dark for 7 miles to be honest with you. I ran 4 miles on my lunch break and then came home and ran the last three outside. I never really mind doing 2-a-day runs, as long as the distance isnt crazy. My legs felt GOOD after all the delicious carbs from sunday!

Kevin got off of work early tonight, yay! I made us “Kevin Specials” and we watched Dexter on the DVR…followed by a bowl of ice cream makes for a perfect monday night in my opinion.

IMG 2802

This girl is ready for bed 🙂 Spinning in the morning!

Do you enjoy baking? What is the last thing YOU baked?

I. freakin. love. baking.

How was your weekend, anything fun?

Have you ever done more then 1 run a day?


