Tags

,

I started my day off with spinning class, which thankfully went over a lot better then it had last Friday. I felt strong and worked up a great sweat, which always makes me happyface πŸ™‚ I finished with 25 minutes of leg weight training.

On my drive to work today, I realized that my car had hit a milestone:

IMG 0581

Crazy right? I’ve had this car since my junior year in college back in 2005. The car is around 12 years old now and pretty much on its last leg, but it still chugs along…I’ll be sad when it finally goes. There’s a lot of memories in this car and it was the first car I could ever truly call mine. Before that, I basically used either my mom or dad’s old cars to get around. When I was 17 and first got my license, I actually drove around in my mom’s Ford Windstar and I was totally the most popular girl in school ever because of it πŸ˜‰

The morning was off to a good start, mostly because of having this little baby as part of my breakfast:

IMG 2803

Now, anyone who knows me, knows that I’ve hated greek yogurt for a while. A couple of years ago, I tried vanilla Oikos yogurt and I absolutely hated it. I had shunned greek yogurt after that. All I’ve been hearing lately is amazing things about Chobani so I decided to give greek yogurt a second chance. OHMYGOSH I’m SO glad I did because this was an absolute party in my mouth. Me and Kev are planning on taking a trip to Costco this weekend so a crate of Chobani might be in my future… πŸ˜‰ Its awesome because I feel like I’m always struggling to get enough protein in and this stuff definitely helps!

I also discovered another love of my food life:

IMG 0582

I had these with my lunch and can you say NOMNOMNOM? I’m a sucker for Wheat thins.

Kevin had off tonight so we decided to cook dinner together. It’s been a while since we’ve cooked a full on meal together so we decided on making a pork stir-fry. Kevin is in love with our Wok and has been dying for a chance to use it lately so this was the perfect opportunity. We paired it with brown rice and it was really tasty!

IMG 2804

Β 

IMG 2806

IMG 2810

IMG 2812

I actually found this recipe by googling it and finding it on Kalyns blog πŸ™‚

Pork and Broccoli Stir-Fry with Ginger and Hoisin Sauce

(Makes about 3-4 servings, recipe slightly adapted from The Sugar Solution Cookbook.)

1 lb. pork tenderloin (2 boneless pork loin chops were perfect)
2 T soy sauce
1 T dry sherry
1 T cornstarch (or arrowroot starch)
4 cups broccoli flowerets, cut into same size pieces
1-2 T peanut oil (depending on your pan)
4-5 slices fresh ginger root
4-5 sliced garlic cloves

sauce:
2 tsp. ginger puree (also called ground ginger, or use finely minced fresh ginger root)
2 tsp. garlic puree (also called ground garlic, or use finely minced garlic cloves)
1/4 cup chicken stock
1 T Hoisin sauce
pinch of red pepper flakes or a few shakes or Sriracha sauce

Trim all visible fat from pork chops and cut into strips about 1/2 inch thick and 2-3 inches long. Combine soy sauce, dry sherry, and cornstarch in bowl and add the pork strips. Stir to coat pork and let marinate while you prep the other ingredients.

Wash broccoli and cut into same-sized flowerets, keeping a few inches of stem on the pieces. If using ginger and garlic puree, combine with chicken stock, Hoisin sauce, and hot sauce or pepper flakes. (If using freshly minced ginger and garlic, keep them out of the sauce so they can have a minute or so of extra cooking time.)

Have all ingredients ready and turner and serving plate ready before you begin to stir-fry.

Heat wok over high flame or hot burner about 1 minute, until it feels hot if you put your hand over the wok. Add 1 T peanut oil and heat until the oil looks shimmery, then add garlic and ginger root slices and cook 30 seconds to one minute, just until you start to smell the garlic and ginger. Be careful to remove every bit of ginger and garlic or it will make the oil taste bitter.

Add broccoli and stir-fry, stirring often, for about 3 minutes, or until broccoli turns bright green and is barely getting tender. Remove broccoli to a plate. Add a bit more oil if needed, heat about 30 seconds, then add pork and marinating liquid. Stir-fry pork about 3-4 minutes, until it’s firm and slightly browned. (If using freshly minced garlic and ginger, add now and cook about 1 minute.) Add broccoli and sauce and cook about 2 minutes more, stirring until meat and vegetables are coated with sauce and sauce is slightly thickened. (There will not be a huge amount of sauce.) Serve hot.

This printable recipe fromΒ KalynsKitchen.com

Yay for blog recipes!
I’m such a grandma and its almost my bedtime…getting up for another early workout tomorrow πŸ™‚
What are your recent food obsessions?
Whats the highest mileage you’ve ever racked up on a car?
This car has def been my longest/craziest run!

