Tags

, ,

I’ve been pretty proud of myself this past week. Despite the holidays and all the excessive food and drink…I think I did pretty decent keeping up with awesome workouts and trying not to be super nomnomface. This morning as my alarm went off at 5:20, I struggled to get the motivation to drag myself from bed. I didnt get out the door till 5:45, which is when spinning class starts so I knew this was a no-go. I decided to get on the elliptical for an hour instead…while reading the new Marie Claire on my iPad 😉

 

Kim kardashian marie claire cover

I cant hate Kim Kardashian no matter how hard I try. The Kardashians just crack me up…Khloe is my absolute fave but I dont hate against Kim, even despite all the drama surrounding her now..

Ahhhh I digress.

Since I got a late start to my workout, I wasnt able to do as much weight training as I wouldve liked. I’m hoping to get to bed before 10 pm tonight and waking up refreshed on weds morning for a 7 mile run…yeahhh okaayyy.

I’ve learned to try to be flexible with my workouts. Its ok if I have off days, its human.

Kevin had off of work tonight so we decided to make a simple dinner together. We had oven fried chicken, spinach sauteed with olive oil and garlic, and I had a sweet potato while Kevin had mashed potatoes and apple sauce…him and his weird combinations 😉 I also had a little side of lite honey mustard for my chicken…what can I say, i’m a dipaholic.

IMG 2841

IMG 2842

IMG 2843

This oven fried chicken recipe is so easy and I think its pretty darn yummy!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups rice-corn crispy cereal, (recommended: Crispex)
  • 2 1/4 cups broken bagel chips or melba toast
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 4 bone-in, skinless chicken pieces (about 6 ounces each) See Cook’s Note

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Set a rack on a foil lined baking sheet. Spray the rack generously with cooking spray.

 

Finely grind the cereal and toasts together in a food processor. Transfer crumbs to a large gallon size plastic bag. Add the oil, salt, cayenne, paprika, and ground pepper and toss to mix thoroughly.Whisk the light mayonnaise and Dijon mustard together in a medium shallow bowl. Add chicken to mayonnaise and turn to coat all the pieces evenly. Drop the chicken into the plastic bag, seal and shake until each piece is evenly coated. Place coated pieces on the prepared rack. Spray the chicken pieces evenly with cooking spray, and bake until the coating crisps and browns and an instant-read thermometer inserted in the thickest part of the pieces registers 160 degrees F, 35 to 40 minutes.

*Courtesy of foodnetwork.com

I have a confession to make. This time of the year I come face to face with yet another love of my life…

IMG 2848

Yes, i’m in love with the holiday popcorn tins. If my parents decided to get me 500.00 worth of this for christmas, I’d probably be ridiculously happy, but my pants would soon cease to fit.

I pouted at Kevin in Target while hugging this tin until he agreed we could buy it…muahaha, sucker 😉

So, guess what I had for dessert?

IMG 2849

Ohhhhhh yeahhhh.

I’m super fueled for tomorrows run now!

Have you ever modified your workout plan according to how you felt that day?

Are you a fan of holiday popcorn tins?


