Tags

, , ,

This week has been moving so quickly I barely know where the time goes. This season literally always flies by for me. Does anyone else feel that way?

This morning I got to sleep in a little bit since I was hitting the treadmill up on my lunch break. I forget how good it feels to actually wake up at Β a normal time for work. It is possible to not feel like a complete zombie when I wake up? πŸ™‚

That run was absolutely amusing considering I only had 11 minutes of the movie “Office Space” left to watch on my iPad and my shuffle starting warning low battery….Obviously I need as many distractions as possible when i’m running on the treadmill but thats besides the point πŸ˜‰ I love running outside since the outdoors is my distraction but being inside is just so ridiculously boring. I lucked out and my shuffle only died when I had 10 minutes left. Longest 10 minutes of my life I tell ya. I did 5 miles in total.

I had to run to Michaels right after work because I needed supplies to make Elmo Cake Pops for Kevins nephews 2nd birthday on saturday. I was prepping tonight and I have backup in the form of Dema and Nina to help me tackle this project tomorrow night. Somehow I managed to spend a decent amount of money in Michaels and I couldnt help but laugh…it happens to me everytime no matter what when I walk into that store. Maybe i’m too creative for my own good sometimes!

On a random side note…its officially Christmasface around here. Its me and Kevs favorite term for the holiday season…and it means that the season is in full swing. We are totally starting to feel the anticipation of Christmas now:

IMG 2883

We had to put our smaller tree in the dining room and reorganize things a bit. We cant have the cats near the tree or the presents because they would rip it all to shreds. I’m seriously not planning on getting a nice christmas tree until these two get old and fat and have no motivation to cause mischief anymore πŸ˜‰

I whipped up a delicious dinner…stepped a little out of the box..hahaha. I saw fresh butternut squash and felt inspired. I decided to roast it and adapted this recipe from allrecipes.com:

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley (I used 1 teaspoon)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil ( I used 1 tablespoon)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced (I used 1 clove)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (sprinkled lightly)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper (sprinkled lightly)
  • 3 1/2 pounds butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes (I used about a cup and a half)
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I grated as much fresh parmesan as I wanted…we still had good quality parm left from dinner on sunday night!)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the parsley, oil, garlic, salt and pepper. Add squash and toss to coat.
  2. Transfer to an ungreased shallow 2-qt. baking dish. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees F for 50-55 minutes or until squash is just tender.

Β 

IMG 2880

IMG 2887

It came out really delicious. It was my first time ever working with it and I am a happy camper.

I also had half a pita pocket with lemon hummus and olive tapenade spread inside:

IMG 2885

Also a bottle of blue moon to wash it down with:

IMG 2886

Then it was finally time to make the cake:

IMG 2891

Its out of the oven and cooling now. I’ll be crumbling it up and rolling it into balls in an hour or two. Cake pops are time consuming but I think its worth it in the end. Cant wait to show you guys how they come out tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Do you like cake pops? Have you ever tasted one before?

Have you ever eaten butternut squash before? How do you like to cook it?

Do you need distractions while running on the treadmill too?


