Tags

,

Ohhhhh its been so long.

I’ve been a terrible blogger, but my resolution is to keep up with my posting. I’m pretty decent at keeping my promises so lets do this πŸ™‚

What has happened since I last posted? Well the whirlwind of christmas and new years of course. I had a wonderful christmas filled with lots of food, lots of presents and lots of familytime. It doesnt really get better then that in my opinion. I had issues with maintaining my weight last christmas and I was determined to keep steady this season. I’m happy to say i’ve been successful. I’ve kept up with every single one of my workouts and I indulged but didnt overindulge..that is truly the key to maintenance. Dont restrict, but do not go crazy. Everytime I have restricted myself it has backfired on me…mostly in the form of binge eating. No more of that, thank you! I’m all about a healthy mentality right now.

New years eve was a blast. My best friend Caroline and her boyfriend Ron joined us at our apartment. They also brought along a friend that I hadnt seen in forever and it was so great to see her, yay Lindsey! We noshed on snacks for a bit and headed out to our neighborhood bar to ring in the New Year!

IMG 2946

IMG 2950

IMG 2948

I’ve decided on a couple different resolutions. My biggest one of course is to run a marathon. I’m looking at registering for the Chicago marathon which I am SUPER excited about. I’m also looking into running it for charity, Team in Training (Leukemia and Lymphoma society) in particular. I’m in the process of reaching out to them and learning all about the process. I told Kevin i’d like to dedicate this marathon to him, and getting to run it to benefit a charity for a disease that he survived would mean so much to me. I’m really looking forward to this. The only things that worry me are some nagging injuries that I’m trying hard to take care of. Recently my knee has been bothering me and that is something new that I am unsure of. I think it might just be runners knee but I’m scaling back my mileage a little bit and icing my knee in hopes that it gets better. Cross your fingers for me please!

Chicago Marathon Logo

Team in training logo1

My second one is to hopefully give up soda. I dont drink a ton of soda, but I have a can of diet coke with my lunch everyday. I just know it isnt good for me so I’m going to try to switch over to flavored seltzer to see if I can ween myself off. I really should invest in a sodastream, shouldnt I? πŸ˜‰ I’m also determined to eat alot healthier and just keep a healthy mindset. No beating up on myself, I need to be my own biggest cheerleader!

Β 

Today was a real big treat for me and Kevin because we learned to make his mom’s famous sauce. She makes this incredible sauce and meatballs (seriously, its so delicious and everyone that has ever tasted it has been hooked…needless to say its a must-have at all of his family functions) It was quite a learning experience. My biggest worry with meatballs is that they arent going to be cooked all the way through but now I feel like i’m a semi-expert! I’m excited to try and make this on my own eventually…for now, i’ll just enjoy the massive amounts of leftovers we have from today πŸ˜‰ It was such a great day because we also got to hang out with one of the coolest kids on the block…Colin, Kevins nephew. Hes such a trip, i’m excited anytime I get to spend time with that little munchkin!

IMG 2963

IMG 2972

IMG 2984

IMG 2985

IMG 2998

IMG 2967

So here’s to a new healthy new year! I’ve missed you all so much!

Tell me…

How was your holidays?

What are YOUR new years resolutions?

Have you ever made sauce from scratch?


