Tags

, ,

I’m sure you guys have all heard about the show, The Biggest Loser?

I heard people talking about it at work this morning and it got the wheels in my head turning. I used to watch the show religiously years ago, but have since stopped watching. It is in my humble opinion that I just don’t think it sends out the best message to people. I really do love the positive parts about the show…which include the overall positive message of getting healthy, of lifestyle changes, of really believing in yourself. The thing that I really hate about it though is the whole mentality of taking weight loss to this quick and extreme place. These people work out for hours and hours a day in an effort to drop the pounds dramatically. I feel that it adds to that mentality in this country to lose weight as quickly as possible. I think its really hard to keep your weight off if you drop it so quickly. What happens when you have to live your day to day life and its incredibly difficult to work out for 4-5 hours a day?

When I think back to how I used to view my weight loss when I first started, I would concentrate on 10 pounds at a time. Otherwise, I wouldve been incredibly overwhelmed. It would take me around a month to lose 10 pounds, some months were more, some months were less. The point is, I worked it off at a steady pace and I think that has helped tremendously in my weight maintenance. I get that the show is a lot about entertainment value but I cant help but shake my head at it all.

Thats my two cents anyways 😉

My workout this morning was 7 miles of hills, fun stuff as usual!

I was freezing this morning so breakfast was organic snickerdoodle oatmeal with a spoonful of nutella and a sprinkling of raisins. My tummy is happy again just looking at this picture:

IMG 3022

Seriously, nothing is better then oatmeal on a cold morning. I just wish I wasnt so impatient since burnt tongue isnt so pleasant.

Lunch was turkey and brie on a whole wheat thin and an apple. With grapefruit sparkling water…yes, I call this my fancy brown bag lunch.

IMG 3023

I was inspired when I got home tonight…I decided to take a stab at making homemade granola since Julie over at pbfingers.com always has delicious looking recipes. You can find this particular recipe here.

Nutella Granola

Makes four 1/4 cup servings

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons Nutella
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  2. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray and set aside
  3. Combine Nutella and honey in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave until just melted, about 25 seconds
  4. Stir Nutella and honey together until completely combined
  5. Pour oats into Nutella and honey mixture and stir until oats are completely coated in chocolate mixture (once all the ingredients are adequately mixed, the granola will be thick and almost moldable)
  6. Spread granola onto a cookie sheet, making sure to separate the oats a bit to create clusters
  7. Bake for approximately 20 minutes, flipping halfway through
  8. Remove granola from the oven and allow to cool and harden into crunchy clusters
  9. Once granola is cool, add chocolate chips and enjoy

IMG 3024

IMG 3025

IMG 3026

IMG 3027

IMG 3030

I have to say that I will probably never buy granola again…this was so simple to make and I cant wait to mix some into my greek yogurt tomorrow! I didnt add the chocolate chips that Julie suggested but it was just still yummy!

After munching on too much granola, I wasnt in the mood for anything big for dinner, I microwaved a sweet potato and mashed up the insides with light butter and cinnamon:

IMG 3032

I could eat a sweet potato everyday and never get tired of them 🙂

Tell me…

Do you watch the Biggest Loser? Any thoughts?

Have you ever made your own granola before?

What are your favorite oatmeal add-ins?

