Tags

,

Its one of the first Tuesdays in a while that I woke up not feeling like a sloth. Wow, what happened? 😉

I made it to the gym at 5:30 am and started off with 15 minutes on the stairmaster followed by 45 minutes on the elliptical. I was reading the latest issue of Marie Claire on my iPad…does anybody read it? Its one of my favorite magazines because I like that the articles are really over a broad spectrum from fashion to makeup to real world issues. After my cardio I was excited to get in a full 25 minute weight training session on my legs. Its been forever ever since I’ve had one of those! I’m trying to stay away from squats and lunges because of the ITBS but I was able to feel the burn otherwise. I focused more on machines then free weights and I felt awesome when I was finally done. I really need to keep this up…I know in the back of my head how important it is to get in the weight training but I’m so cardio driven with the running 😦

Today was incredibly dreary which kind of made me feel sleepy all day…combine that with trying to quit soda and you have a super space cadet but somehow I made it through. I was pretty darn excited over my pear with lunch:

IMG 3069

Please ignore my man hands, thank you.

I was even more excited for the addition of these into my snack drawer at work:

IMG 3070

Um, whole grain means healthy right?…..right.

I convinced Kevin to make something semi-healthy for dinner tonight and was a little surprised at 1) how easy it was and 2) that he agreed to do a fish dish. I’m either rubbing off on the boy or he is up to something terrible and is trying to suck up. I cant decide 😉

We decided to make blackened tilapia with a side of lemony spinach and a side salad. We’ve been obsessed with having salads with every meal and I’m totally okay with that.

We found the recipe for the blackened tilapia off foodnetwork.com:

Ingredients

Blackening Spice:

  • 3 tablespoons smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried ground thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

For Fish:

Directions

In a small bowl combine all of the spices. Press a heaping tablespoon of the spice mix onto each fillet so that both sides are liberally coated. Allow the fish to sit for 15 minutes at room temperature prior to cooking.

 

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Once the oil is almost smoking, add the fillets and cook for 2 to 3 minutes on each side. Sprinkle with lemon juice and transfer the fillets to serving platter.

IMG 3072

IMG 3073

 

It came out really great and it was amazingly easy. If you arent a huge fan of spicy, never fear, I dont like things super spicy either and I was able to handle this with little issue.

I also used some leftover bruschetta from saturday as an appetizer…I brushed some french baguette with olive oil and broiled it until nice and toasty…it was yummy and held us over while we cooked dinner:

IMG 3071

I sauteed the baby spinach with a little olive oil and garlic…I also added some lemon zest and lemon juice and it came out perfect:

IMG 3075

I can never get enough spinach, I could definitely eat a pound of it no problem…although maybe my stomach wouldnt agree so much 😉

And last but not least our salad:

IMG 3074

A little boring but still good 🙂

I’m so beat and I’m not gonna lie, I’m real excited to get into bed tonight…I’m gonna sleep like a log.

Have a great night everyone!

Tell me…

Whats one of your favorite veggie side dishes?

Do you like fish at all? If so, whats your favorite kind?

Do you feel good when you get a strong weight training session in?


