Tags

, ,

I felt so much better when I woke up this morning, even if it was at 5:15 am. I’m guessing it was the 20 gallons of water I drank last night?

Todays workout included 15 minutes, level 10 on the stairmaster and 45 minutes at level 19 on the elliptical, followed by 20 minutes of leg weight training. It was a good one 🙂

I was researching marathon training plans today even though I wont be starting training until April/Mayish, I figured why not get a head start? There is ALOT of info out there.

I came across this gem while checking out Hal Higdons training plan:

“Most runners choose one of my Novice programs. Interestingly, 40 percent of the 45,000 who register for the Chicago Marathon each year are doing their first marathon, often their first road race!”

HA! Looks like i’m on the right track already! I’m semi-kidding. I actually got the idea for Chicago while reading a recent issue of Runners World. Its known for attracting elites because its a flat, fast course. Sounded rightttt up my alley.

I also checked out Runner’s World Smart Coach as well. That plan had alot more mileage weekly…I’m debating it but I’m thinking I like this plan better so far. We’ll see how it goes!

In other news, I had a ridiculously large orange with my lunch today and it made me pretty happy…Vitamin C baby!

IMG 0638

Yep, I like to make stupid faces with oranges and yep, my coworkers think i’m insane for taking pictures of myself with an orange on my phone.

I felt completely inspired for dinner by a post Kristen had done a couple of weeks ago. Me and Kev made Chicken and Black Bean enchiladas with a side of roasted asparagus!

IMG 3128

IMG 3129

We adapted from the same recipe she did, but modified it slightly as well:

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breats
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (4-ounce) can diced green chiles
  • 1/2 cup medium salsa
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • 6 8-inch flour tortillas
  • Shredded Monterey Jack to sprinkle on top…I’d say around a cup

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and saute 2 minutes. Add chicken and saute 5 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through.

Stir in black beans, green chiles, and salsa and simmer 5 minutes, until sauce thickens and reduces. Remove from heat and stir in cilantro.

Arrange 6 tortillas on a flat surface. Top each tortilla with an equal amount of chicken mixture. Roll up tortillas and place side by side in a shallow baking dish. Top tortillas with shredded cheese (we just sprinkled enough on top to cover everything)

Bake enchiladas 15 minutes, until cheese is golden and gooey!

We both topped ours with salsa, but I used 0% plain chobani in place of sour cream. It was my first time using greek yogurt as a substitute for sour cream and the verdict is AWESOME! It tastes amazingly similar.

IMG 3130

I’m feeling satisfyingly full and now its time for me to hit the sack…5:30 am run on the agenda tomorrow, have a great night!

Tell me…

What kind of fruit are you loving on lately?

What is one of your fave healthy substitutions?

Do you prefer enchiladas or burritos?


 

