Tags

, ,

Suffice to say, I woke up feeling much better this morning. Thank gosh, I dont think I couldve made it through another day like yesterday.

I felt a little weak, so I did my workout but on a little lighter level. 1 hour on the elliptical and 20 minutes of leg weight training…not too shabby.

Breakfast was egg beaters with a sprinkling of monterey jack on a sandwich thin. I havent done this breakfast at work for a while, it hit the spot. Am I the only one that likes to drown their eggs in ketchup?

IMG 3176

I am probably the most oblivious person in the world, Kevin makes fun of me for it all the time. How long have I been ignoring these amusing stickers on my bananas?

IMG 3177

Oh bananas, I love you right back. You make my heart even happier when I eat you with a spoonful of nutella ๐Ÿ™‚

Since I had such a great experience with our last meal out…(insert sarcastic smirk here)…we decided to whip up an easy dinner.

I used a slightly modified version ofย this recipe:

Ingredients

  • 12 ounces penne pasta
  • 1 (8.5-ounce) jar sun-dried tomatoes packed in olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves (We ended up subbing basil paste, im sure its even better with fresh basil)
  • 3/4 cup freshly grated parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons toasted pine nuts
  • We also added 2 medium chicken breasts, cubed. Original recipe is vegetarian.

Directions

Cut chicken breasts into cubes. Heat skillet with 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Cook chicken all the way through, approx 5-10 minutes.

Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes. Drain, reserving 1 cup of the cooking liquid.

Meanwhile, blend the sun-dried tomatoes and their oil, garlic, salt and pepper, to taste, and basil in a food processor and blend until the tomatoes are finely chopped. Transfer the tomato mixture to a large bowl. Stir in the Parmesan.

Add the pasta to the pesto and toss to coat, adding enough reserved cooking liquid to moisten. Season the pasta, to taste, with salt and pepper and add pine nuts. Enjoy!

IMG 3180

I’m a little in love with this pasta, so this is the one we went with!

IMG 3181

IMG 3182

We went to two different supermarkets and BOTH were out of fresh basil. Can you believe it? This tasted just fine in the recipe, but i’m sure it would be better with fresh basil instead!

IMG 3183

IMG 3184

IMG 3185

IMG 3186

IMG 3187

We made some “garlic bread” by toasting a sandwich thin and spreading it with a little light butter and then sprinkling some garlic powder. Gourmet chefs in the house!

IMG 3188

It was truly a quick, easy and tasty dinner. I’m excited for leftovers tomorrow too. It was our first time making it, but i’m thinking its a keeper. As long as it doesnt keep being impossible to find basil that is ๐Ÿ˜‰

We attacked some of the samoa ice cream for dessert. my tummy is insanely happyface.

Have a great night everyone!

Tell me…

What is one of your favorite quick dinners to make?

What kind of pasta do you like to eat the most?

Can you believe its already the end of January?!

I’m seriously in disbelief!

