Tags

, , ,

I was feeling really anxious about yesterdays run. I kept hoping that the custom insoles was the root of my IT band problems. I was hoping to not have a crappy run. I said a small prayer to my new Mizunos before I hit the road:

IMG 3224

I’m SO ecstatic to share that this was the best run I’ve had in months. I did 11 miles and NO IT BAND PROBLEMS!!! I didnt even wear my IT band strap, I kept it in my jacket pocket in case I needed it, but I didnt! I dont want to jump ahead of myself and say that I’m completely ok yet, but this is a really good sign. I’m going to do a longer run next Saturday and see how that one goes…but this is huge for me and feeling comfortable with starting marathon training in a few months! YAY! Never take your healthy, injury free body for granted. I forgot how good it felt to run without any pain or worries. I was soooo tempted to keep going but I told myself I needed to take it easy. I still foam rolled and stretched as soon as I came in, and i’m feeling pretttyyy pretty good today 🙂

Yesterday was a blur of errands, we were taking my family to dinner for my Dad’s 50th birthday so we bought a bunch of fun stuff:

IMG 3225

IMG 3229

 

I even got a little dressed up:

IMG 3228

I’m a terrible blogger and took NO pictures at dinner…mostly because I was starving and so distracted by all the delicious food and wine being passed around 🙂 It was an awesome time though and my Dad was happy with everything and thats what meant the most to me.

We came back to our apartment to hang out and cut a cake for him:

IMG 3234

IMG 3237

IMG 3239

The red velvet cake was deliciously scrumptious…yum!

We all had a blast together, im always incredibly grateful when I get to spend time with my family. There is honestly nothing I’d rather do more on a saturday night 🙂

I woke up feeling a little worn from yesterday and decided I absolutely needed a bagel in my life:

IMG 3241

Sundried tomato bagel with veggie cream cheese solves all my problems.

And now for the funnest part of this post!

OXO sent me this lovely device:

IMG 3242

IMG 3244

“The Good Cookie” Spatula!

OXO released this spatula to help benefit their Cookies for Kids’ Cancer program.

Just a little background:

Cookies was founded by two OXO employees, Gretchen and Larry Witt who were inspired by their son Liam’s battle with pediatric cancer. They were shocked to learn that the main reason over 25% of kids diagnosed with cancer do not survive is because of a lack of effective therapies. And the reason for the lack of effective therapies was simple: lack of funding.

Cookies for Kids’ cancer was born to fill this void and to provide inspiration and support for individuals, communities and businesses to help fight pediatric cancer through the concept of local bake sales. Through these efforts, OXOnians have helped raise over $150,000 to support Cookies for Kids’ cancer.

This year, OXO will donate up to $100,000 to support research for new and improved therapies.

How can YOU can make a difference?

The purchase of every limited edition cookie spatula helps OXO support Cookies for Kids’ Cancer as 50% of profits benefit pediatric cancer awareness, up to $100,000. To purchase, visit your nearest Bed Bath & Beyond or visit http://www.amazon.com. You can also check out the store locator at http://www.oxogoodcookies.com to find a local retailer 🙂

I love OXO products and use many of them in my kitchen. This one makes me feel even better because its adorable and for charity!

I used it to make some awesome chocolate chip cookies for Superbowl Sunday today!

IMG 3245

IMG 3246

You know you want one! So here’s your chance, just tell me what YOUR favorite thing to bake is in the comments section! I will select a winner at random on Weds, February 8th and mail you out one of your very own Good Cookie spatula 🙂

Hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend. Happy Super Bowl Sunday!!

 

