Tags

,

How exactly do you know if you are a running geek? I guess maybe I have a couple tell-tale signs that I’d like to share.

You simply can’t wait to get that new issue of Runner’s World every month.

IMG 3266

I dont have many magazine subscriptions but this is one that I absolutely love having. The articles are awesome!’

You arent ashamed to admit that it’s like Christmas when you get that Runner’s World calendar every year…and you dont mind looking like a geek at work hanging it up.

IMG 3256

What? It’s motivational! 😉

You have a ridiculous amount of running accessories around your room.

IMG 3265

I definitely didnt want to bore you with photographs of how much I have all around, but one corner of my dresser suffices!

You are in running and workout clothes more then your actual clothes.

IMG 2784

I’m a fashionista, what can I say?

Your friends have hid your facebook statuses because they were tired of hearing you talk about running all the time.

True story.

Your hamper is so full of dirty running clothes that there is no way anyone but you can touch your laundry.

IMG 3263

When Kev and I first moved in together, he offered to do my laundry once since I was really busy at the time. What a terrible idea that was…one time was all he needed to know he could never do that again. He still stayed with me afterwards, its true love everyone.

You have no problem admitting to the public, on your blog, that you are a complete geek about running.

The cat is out of the bag!

Those are just a few signs, dont worry, I had plenty more up my sleeve but I figured I’ve made my point.

In other news, I had a luna bar for breakfast that I absolutely loved:

IMG 3255

If I see this one again, I will need to pick more up!

Workout today was 15 minutes stairmaster, 45 minutes elliptical and 20 minutes weight training. Perfection!

Guess what dinner involved? A recipe I found in the new issue of Runners World! 😉 Actually, any excuse that we can get to use our Wok, we definitely do it. This recipe was really simple. We used chicken instead of shrimp since we already had some sitting in the freezer:

SWEET AND SOUR SHRIMP STIR-FRY
Not only is shrimp a lean source of protein, “but it also provides the mineral selenium, which may help reduce joint inflammation that runners can experience from training,” says Scritchfield. And the copper in cashews helps a runner’s body use iron properly to carry oxygen to working muscles, she adds. Lima beans have fiber, protein, iron, and potassium, an electrolyte necessary for proper organ and muscle functioning. Frozen Asian vegetables provide antioxidants.
EASY DOES IT
Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Cook 2 teaspoons jarred, minced garlic, 1 teaspoon red chili flakes, 1 package frozen Asian vegetable medley, and 1 cup frozen lima beans for 5 minutes. Stir in 1 package frozen cooked shrimp; cook 3 minutes. Add 1 cup unsalted cashews, one 20-ounce can pineapple chunks, 1/3 cup of the canned pineapple juice, and 1 cup jarred sweet-and-sour sauce; heat for 2 minutes. Serve over brown rice.
Serves: 4 Total time: 15 MINUTES
SWITCH HITS
Try frozen mango instead of pineapple.
Omit lima beans in favor of edamame or fava beans.
Swap out the shrimp for cooked, packaged chicken strips.

IMG 3258

IMG 3259

IMG 3261

IMG 3262

I’ve gotta say…I really enjoyed this recipe. I’m glad we used fresh stir fry veggies instead of frozen ones but Im sure it would taste good either way. The pineapple really gave a nice flavor to it all. We did serve it with brown rice…really yummy. Try it out if you are a stir-fry fan!

Time for me to almost get to bed…early 7 mile run on the agenda. Didnt you know grandma bedtime is all the new rage?

One more day to enter my giveaway!

Tell me…

Whats in your favorite kind of stir-fry?

Is there anything that you are a “geek’ about?


