Tags

, ,

 

I woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed for spinning at 5:15 this morning.

Ok I’m a terrible liar…I had to physically roll myself off the bed to make myself wake up. Good thing Kev is a heavy sleeper.

We went to sleep early last night, so I woke up fairly quickly considering. I did spinning, 10 mins stairmaster, 20 minutes upper body weights. It was a good way to kick off my friday morning.

I was drooling all morning thinking about my lunch…leftover salad from last night, with alot of spinach added in. The container was maybe the size of my head:

IMG 3414

Just as good as last night…nomnomnom.

I want to branch out and try new foods, especially ones that have been dubbed as a runners superfood. Can you believe i’ve never tried Quinoa before? My interest was piqued. I’m trying to experiment with my diet before marathon training and see what works best for me. Typically I’ll eat something like waffles or french toast or grilled cheese the night before a run and it works fine. I decided tonight I’d try out a quinoa recipe and bake up some salmon. We shall see tomorrow if this changes anything for me.

I found this recipe here which was recommended off the runners world forums. (Anyone else check those out? You can find some good info in there sometimes!)

BLACK-BEAN, AVOCADO, AND TOMATO QUINOA
makes 4 side servings, or 2 main-dish size portions

2 teaspoons grated lime zest
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1 cup quinoa (I buy the pre-rinsed kind– the other seems like more hassle than its worth)
1 (14- to 15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
2 medium tomatoes, diced
4 scallions, chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (mmm cilantro)
1 avocado, diced

1. Prepare quinoa as directed on box (takes about 15 minutes)
2. In the meantime, whisk together lime zest, lime juice, olive oil, sugar, salt & pepper to taste in a large bowl.
3. Once quinoa is cooked, add it to the dressing and toss until absorbed. Then, stir in remaining ingredients and S&P to taste.

IMG 3416

 

IMG 3417

IMG 3418

Anything involving fresh avocado is heaven in my book.

IMG 3423

The verdict? I did enjoy it but I need to work on my quinoa making skills. It was a little too mushy and I’m thinking thats a no bueno thing. Otherwise, the flavors were awesome, just the texture was a little odd.

I used a simple salmon rub I found for my fish:

IMG 3420

IMG 3421

IMG 3425

This rub was YUM by the way, just sayin.

I’m attempting a 14 miler tomorrow so we shall see how it goes. I feel really good after that dinner so…cross your fingers for me. I’m beat and probably heading to bed soon…I’m such a grandma. I have a 3 day weekend though, so lots of time to relax, yay!

Happy Friday!!!

Tell me…

Have you tried quinoa before? Any favorite recipes?

What are your weekend plans?


