Tags

, ,

 

Wow, who knew eating healthy would actually work well for running?

You mean eating salmon and quinoa salad would work better then say…a greasy pizza?! NO WAY!

hahaha, i’m not giving up pizza anytime soon…but I have to admit, my friday night dinner worked amazing for my 14.75 miler done on Saturday. I felt good, strong, and like I couldve gone on for 26.2 miles…thats what I LOVE to feel! 🙂

It was my friend Stacie’s birthday and we were having a girls dinner with Nina and her friend Kelly so I decided to best way to refuel was lots of vegetable lasagna, garlic bread, and salad 😉 I used this recipe from Kath’s blog:

The Best Vegetable Lasagna

 

Ingredients

  • 3 cups pasta sauce (like Classico Spicy Tomato and Pesto)
  • 16 ounces 2% cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan
  • 9 whole wheat lasagna noodles
  • 8 ounces mozzarella cheese
  • Approximately 4 cups mixed vegetables (I used spinach, carrots, sundried tomatoes, and zucchini)

Preheat oven to 400*.  Spray 11 X 8 glass casserole dish.

  1. Combine cottage and parmesan cheeses.
  2. Place 3 uncooked noodles in pan.
  3. Cover with 1 cup pasta sauce, 1/3 cheese mixture, 1/3 vegetables, and 1/3 mozzarella.
  4. Repeat 2 more times.
  5. Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake one hour.

Makes about 8 servings, ~350 kcal per serving

IMG 3426

IMG 3427

I also made garlic bread by brushing fresh baguette with a mixture of 2 tablespoons of melted butter and 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil…I also sprinkled it with parmesan cheese.

IMG 3428

IMG 3429

Everything came out delicious…I’m such an excellent blogger that I completely forgot to take a picture of the finished product of lasagna before we inhaled it… 😉

Me and Kev woke up earlyish since we had to leave for a family birthday party on his side…I offered to make whole wheat french toast sprinkled with a little powdered sugar…perfect recovery breakfast:

IMG 3430

We headed off to Kev’s cousin Mark’s house to celebrate the birthdays of his children, Chris and Timmy. It was a blast!

IMG 3431

Kev’s nephew Colin and his beautiful sister Marianne…she’s due with the next niece/nephew next month. We’re all SUPER excited 🙂

IMG 3433

Colin enjoying his cookie and Grandmama Schaible 🙂

IMG 3437

IMG 3440

IMG 3444

Trick candles=never gets old.

It’s been a while since we’ve gotten to see Kevin’s family so we were all happy. I love anytime I get to spend with them…we are really lucky to both have such amazing families.

Guess what I had for dinner?

IMG 3449

HA! The perfect fueled by wings sunday here 🙂 Hope everyone else had a great weekend!

Tell me…

What is your perfect prerun fuel?

Do you spend alot of time with your family?

What did you do this weekend?


