Tags

, ,

Why is it that even on my days off, I cant seem to sleep in? I wish I could feel this awake every morning…I woke up at 6:45 am and couldn’t fall back asleep for the life of me. I took care of the pets and cleaned and lazed around until I went out for my run. Prerun fuel of choice? Whole wheat toast with strawberry cream cheese:

IMG 3451

Side note: this is extra nutritional when served on a hello kitty plate.

I went out for an 8.5 mile run…deep in thought most of the time. One of the things that I love most about running is the fact that I’m able to think through things that are light or heavy. I was thinking about the person that I’ve become…or rather the person I’m still becoming. When I think back to my childhood, I was always an overweight child. It caused a lot of issues throughout my life. In elementary school, I didnt have many friends and I was made fun of alot. I’ve always been a self conscious and semi-awkward person because of it. I chose to go to an all-girl high school because I did not want to be teased by boys anymore and I figured it’d make my high school years a lot more enjoyable. I flourished a bit more in that kind of environment…I went to high school with a bunch of truly awesome girls. But the experiences from my childhood…it shaped the way I felt about myself, and my attitude towards other people and friends. I’m a very non-confrontational person…to the point that I have let people walk all over me. I’m still an awkward person…it takes me a while to truly be comfortable around someone. It still upsets me when people don’t like me..I always want people to like me. Its only in recent years in my weight loss that I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I’d have to change my ways of thinking. I needed to become comfortable in my own skin…and it hasnt been an easy journey whatsoever. I wish I was one of those people that were popular and social and confident but thats never been me. Amusingly enough, Kevin is one of those people. I joke around with him all the time that I envy him šŸ˜‰ I’m a constant work in progress…but with all the talk of bullying in the recent years in the media…it just makes me think. Its sad how cruel kids and people in general can be…I know how much it affected me, I just wish that attitude would stop. The world would be a much happier place šŸ˜‰

Anyways…onto a positive note…I had a super healthy lunch of a turkey club sandwich on whole wheat:

IMG 3452

I also had some frozen yogurt with wet walnuts:

IMG 3454

I’ve been terrible at taking pictures today…but lets just say you didnt miss much. I’ve been having a very lazy day with my sister, watching TV..snacking. Its been relaxing but I wont mind getting back into routine tomorrow šŸ˜‰ Hopping right back onto the healthy eating train tomorrow!

Tell me…

Do you have some serious reflection time during your workouts?

Is it hard for you to sleep-in even when you have the opportunity?

Were you ever bullied as a child?


