Tags

, ,

I woke up with my chest feeling like crap.:(

At spinning last Friday, the guy on the spin bike yesterday was joking around about how sick he was. I wasnt very amused considering I couldnt figure out for the life of me why he chose to sit next to other people during the class if he was sick. There were free bikes that werent right next to anyone. My throat felt a little scratchy over the weekend but nothing serious. I even felt good yesterday. Today went…all downhill. I went to the gym at 5:30 am and did 10 minutes on the stairmaster, 50 on the elliptical, and 20 minutes lower body weight training. I felt fine during my workout but as soon as I got to work I started feeling crappier. I was weak, achy, feverish and my chest hurt. Nooooo bueno.

I’ve been taking medicine and airborne all day, so all I can do is get a good night sleep and hope I feel a little better in the morning. Le sigh. I’m annoyed because I was just sick in November and i’m usually never really sick…Great job immune system 😦

Lunch does not look awesome, but its leftover veggie lasagna from the other day:

IMG 3455

I also made myself some tea to soothe my throat…I had bought a sampler pack of Tazo and I dont know why I chose this one but it was decent…honestly anything warm on my throat would have been soothing:

IMG 3457

I was tempted to just do something easy like soup for dinner but me and Kev got more creative and decided to try out a recipe that would utilize the Quinoa I had bought last week!

We used this recipe!

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 large clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 (20 ounce) package ground turkey
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon water

Directions

  1. Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan over high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender, and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes. Set aside to cool.
  2. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in the onion; cook and stir until the onion has softened and turned translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another minute; remove from heat to cool.
  4. Stir the turkey, cooked quinoa, onions, tomato paste, hot sauce, 2 tablespoons Worcestershire, egg, salt, and pepper in a large bowl until well combined. The mixture will be very moist. Shape into a loaf on a foil lined baking sheet. Combine the brown sugar, 2 teaspoons Worcestershire, and 1 teaspoon water in a small bowl. Rub the paste over the top of the meatloaf.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven until no longer pink in the center, about 50 minutes. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 160 degrees F (70 degrees C). Let the meatloaf cool for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

IMG 3458

IMG 3459

IMG 3460

IMG 3462

For a side dish, I decided to try out roasting sweet potatoes for the first time. I peeled two giant ones and cut them into cubes…then I drizzled them with olive oil and honey and salted them lightly. I roasted them with the meatloaf at 400 for a hour as well:

IMG 3461

I was starving so threw together a salad with spinach, carrots, craisins, blue cheese crumbles, walnuts and drizzled it with vinegar to munch on while we were waiting for everything to cook:

IMG 3463

I’m happy to say everything came out awesome and it was a really easy dinner…definitely another keeper. The meatloaf was spicy from the hot sauce, so if you made this for kids, I would suggest maybe halving the hot sauce aspect…but its all up to you!

IMG 3464

IMG 3465

IMG 3466

I sprinkled my sweet potatoes with cinnamon…it was yummo!

I’m still feeling a bit crappy so i’m going to wait to workout until my lunch break tomorrow…blech. Here’s to feeling better tomorrow. Hope your Tuesday was good!

Tell me…

Do you get sick often or rarely?

Whats your favorite way to eat sweet potatoes?


