Tags

, ,

There are constant issues that I’ve dealt with in terms of eating. My relationship with food is…complicated to say the least.

I’m a bored eater and I’m a complete emotional eater. I love to eat when I’m happy, sad, upset, angry…any emotion under the sun, I can find an excuse. It will be an issue that I will always struggle with. The weight maintenance journey will never really end. Its a lovely thought that you diet, lose weight, and then magically keep it off with less effort then it took to lose it…but I would be lying if I said that. I turn to food for a lot of different reasons. I’ve had to learn that along with the fact that losing weight did not solve my issues, neither does food.

I know there are many other emotional eaters out there. Its a lot easier to turn to food then it can be to face the issues that are at hand. I bring this up since because I opened up to all of you about my depression issues…well, emotional eating is one of those things that come along with the territory. There have been many times when I’m stuffing my face with food and wondering why exactly I am eating if I am not thoroughly enjoying it. I’ve had to learn to change my relationship with food.

Food should be looked at as wonderful, delicious fuel for your body. You need to remember that food can only comfort you or make you happy for the short term. It is not an answer to your problems.

The next time you find yourself reaching for that cookie box or eating mindlessly…stop and ask yourself if this is something you really NEED and enjoying. Listen to your body. Is this going to make you feel better tomorrow? Is this what you really need right now? Are you truly hungry?

I’m the first to admit that there are many times when I need to step back and have a little talk with myself. Am I eating because I’m emotional? Why and how is this going to help the situation?

In our culture, we love to be in a mindset where we are constantly going and never thinking…One of my favorite things to do that has helped with the emotional eating issue is to sit down, relax, and actually savor what I am eating. You can’t have the emotions mess around with your food. Food is meaningless in that way…it only brings about a temporary answer to your issues at hand.

If this is something you struggle with, I feel your pain 🙂 I’m trying to get better at it, but it will never be easy. Just know you aren’t alone. Life is all about learning from experiences, right? I am constantly learning from everything that I’ve been through. I do not hold all the answers, but I hope to share with you what I’ve learned so far…none of this is really easy. I feel a lot better knowing that I understand that fact! 😉

In other news, this morning’s workout included 15 minutes stairmaster, 45 minutes elliptical, 20 minutes upper body training. I did heavier weights today and boy do I feel it already! we’ll see how I wake up tomorrow feeling.

The highlight of today was dinner…Kev and I decided on breakfast for dinner. We made omelettes and potatoes.

I made mine with southwest egg beaters, sauteed tomatoes and onions, red bell pepper, and a sprinkling of cheddar and ham:

IMG 3568

IMG 3570

IMG 3572

 

IMG 3575

IMG 3577

Mine didnt come out so pretty…but definitely tasted delicious!

IMG 3578

IMG 3582

Kevins came out a little prettier…he used 4 eggs and alot more ham, onions and red bell pepper:

IMG 3579

IMG 3580

He made me laugh because he said even before he cut into his eggs that he would need french toast afterwards…since he’d still be hungry. Ahhh, that boy is my fatty soulmate 😉

So happy tomorrow is Friday and I get to sleep in until a late 7:20 am, hoorah!

Tell me…

Are you an emotional eater? How do you deal with it?

Do you enjoy breakfast for dinner?

What are your favorite omelette ingredients?


