Tags

, , ,

So, remember how I told you yesterday I’m feeling stronger? Well, I woke up this morning and the outside of my ankle was reallllly sore. I surprised myself by not throwing a temper tantrum. I calmly went to the gym, but I was deeply in thought about running. If there was one thing that I wish I could change during this injury time was the first week I felt something off…I shouldn’t have ran knowing I wasn’t feeling quite right. I’m sure if I had just taken the time off right from the start, I would’ve been healed up in no time. I am such a crazy creature of habit that it bothers me to get off my routine. Am I frustrated that as soon as i’m getting over my inner ankle tendonitis that i’m starting to feel tender on the outside of my ankle? Of course. I also know that at this point, it’s not full blown anything yet…so my plan is to not run until I’m sure that it feels ok. I actually don’t mind getting to cycle more, because I missed it. I guess i’m becoming fond of biking ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a few weeks before marathon training starts and I am as DETERMINED as ever to completely rock it. The thought of getting to run pain free makes me incredibly happy!

Optimism is 100% better then pessimism. No more feeling sorry for myself. I’m strong and I will get through this. I’ve gotta give my body the rest it needs sometimes.

It might come as no surprise to you that the reason that I have not been showcasing my breakfasts and lunches on here is because well…i’m eating the same thing everyday. (Helllooo, creature of routine rears its ugly head!) I’m still having chobani and granola for bfast.ย 

I love beating you guys over the head with my Almond butter and banana sammiches…you can thank Costco for that one. (Dont worry, they aren’t paying me to advertise, I’m just my fathers daughter.)

IMG 4022

Wanna know a little bit more about why i’ve been so obsessed with Almond Butter?ย 

According to Runner’s World:

PEANUT BUTTER *VS* ALMOND BUTTER
Almond butter has more calcium and magnesium, a mineral that’s often lacking in runners’ diets and is important for muscle contraction. While the two nut butters contain about the same amount of fat, the almond variety has 60 percent more monounsaturated fat. “When consumed in place of saturated fat,” says Dulan, “monounsaturated fat lowers harmful LDL levels to help decreaseย heart diseaseย and stroke risk.” Almond butter also has three times more vitamin E, an antioxidant that may reduce cancer risk.

HEALTHY CHOICE:ย Use almond butter instead of PB on your bagel. Blend it into a postrun smoothie, or stir it into oatmeal.

It took a little getting used to for me but I’m really loving it. It tastes more natural then regular PB to me…it’s also a little more liquidy…definitely a different spread from normal PB. I haven’t tried it yet in my oatmeal but it is on my to-try list!

I also had a side of sliced mango. Mango is so darn good but I absolutely hate cutting them up…I make a mess!

IMG 4023

And as if you needed further proof of my space-cadetness…I can add another accomplishment on my list today because I totally burnt the sauteed spinach I made with dinner:

IMG 4024

Eat your heart out Food Network, all you need is an equal amount of garlic and parmesan to mask the burnt ๐Ÿ˜‰ Champion COOK here! I ended up using a pan that was way too small for the amount of spinach and…yeah, the rest is history.

A piece of taco lasagna more then made up for it:

IMG 4025

Tomorrows workout is a game-time decision…if its raining, then I’m going to the gym. If its ok, I’ll take a nice bike ride. We’ll see how the weather holds up. Since I know you are dying to know, I did 30 mins on the stairclimber, 30 mins on the elliptical and 20 mins of upper body training today. Fun times indeed.

Tell me…

Do you like nut butters? If so, whats your favorite kind?

What was something delicious you ate today?

Are you a CostCo Fan? ๐Ÿ˜‰

