Tags

, , ,

…and that fear is speedwork.

I’ve always been a runner who just goes with the flow. I love distance running and just running how I fast I feel depending on the day…but i’ve never once done an actual speed workout. I felt freaked out when my TNT coach told me that he’d like us advanced runners to have a sort of “recovery period” for the first couple weeks of marathon training in order to work on speed.

Whaaaatttt….

My workouts are filled with shorter workouts focused on speed for the next couple of weeks. Considering I barely know the difference between a tempo run and a fartlek run…I wasn’t sure how to feel about the fact that my workout for Thursday was a 3 mile tempo-run. The run is described on my training plan as “run the first mile as a warmup…then start intervals of running hard for 2 minutes, recovering for 2 minutes, then use the last mile as a cool-down”.

I get so worked up over this stuff that I found it hard to sleep last night. I woke up at 6:15 ready to hit the pavement and tackle my first speedwork run. I warmed up for the first mile at a 10:30 pace. I ran intervals of 7:00 for two minutes and once I hit over two miles started my cool-down. I felt pretty accomplished despite the fact I was feeling a little nauseous during the 2nd mile of intervals. I ended up finishing the 3 miles in 28 minutes.

Another reason to be excited? It was a milestone for me…the first time i’ve run two days in a row since i’ve been injured!!!

IMG 4170

Sweaty dork? You betcha!

My foot was feeling good after my run today so i’m feeling pretty confident in that section.

Well what took the wind out of my sails was that there just so happened to be an article by Coach Jenny on runnerworld.com this morning about tempo runs…and I had done mine all wrong 😦 The kind of run I tackled this morning was more of a fartlek run…just wanted to share the interesting article with you guys:

Screen shot 2012 05 31 at 8 57 26 PM

Screen shot 2012 05 31 at 8 59 10 PM

Screen shot 2012 05 31 at 9 04 20 PM

Lesson learned people. I ran my first tempo workout all wrong but next week I will try again the right way!

I’m not planning on trying to run my marathon at anything crazy…but If I could get as close to finishing at 4:15 as possible i’d be a happy camper. Right now, I’m pretty sure my pacing would get me to finishing at 4:30…maybe.

Otherwise, besides my 3 mile run, I did 50 minutes on the elliptical during my lunch break while watching Buffy…not too shabby if I say so myself.

I was in the mood to get takeout for dinner but Kevin convinced me it was so nice outside that we should throw something on the grill…best idea ever!! I bought a salmon filet that I prepped in my fave salmon rub…Kevin bought home ribs from his job for himself. For our sides I made some corn, broccoli and a salad with shaved parm, strawberries, romaine and homemade balsamic vinegarette to top it off!

IMG 4179

IMG 4177

IMG 4178

IMG 4180

In case you are interested…the dressing is super easy. I use a simple one from foodnetwork.com by Emeril:

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • clove garlic, peeled and smashed on a cutting board with the side of a knife, or more to taste
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • Directions

    In a small stainless steel or glass bowl, whisk together the vinegar, mustard, sugar, salt, pepper, and garlic until the sugar and salt are dissolved. While continuing to whisk, add the olive oil in a thin, steady stream until emulsified. Taste and adjust the seasoning, if necessary.

    Happy Friday everyone!!!

    Tell me…

    Any exciting plans for your weekend?

    Have you ever done any speedwork? Did you know what a tempo run was?

    Ever made your own dressing from scratch?!


