Tags

, , , ,

I need to force myself to hydrate better at night sometimes because some mornings I wake up feeling dehydrated 😦 I put forth a lot of effort to keep my water intake up while i’m at work and then at night sometimes I just get lazy. Anyways…I woke up feeling like that and chugged a few glasses of water before heading to the gym. My gym has two stairclimber machines and one is out of order and the other was occupied the whole time I was there…sadface! I did 40 minutes on the elliptical, 20 minutes on the arcclimber and 20 minutes of upper body weight training. Hopefully I have better luck nabbing the stairclimber later this week…its a tough workout but I love/hate it 😉

I’ve been snacking on these nuts that I picked up yesterday…I’m a sucker for pistachios to begin with but when you throw some spicy into the mix, I’m completely sold:

IMG 0793

I promised you guys that I would step out of my repeat quinoa recipes so I decided to try out a new one on my own…I actually didn’t use a recipe and winged it on my own but it came out delicious…so maybe i’m a little proud of myself 😉

Spinach and Goat Cheese Quinoa


1 cup quinoa

2 cups low sodium chicken broth (or vegetable broth)

Olive oil

1 bag of baby spinach

2 cloves of garlic

2 oz of goat cheese

Start by combining 1 cup quinoa with 2 cups of chicken broth in a pot…bring to a rolling boil then cover and lower heat to simmer until most of the liquid has evaporated…around 12-15 minutes

IMG 0795

In the meantime, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil in a saucepan and throw the 2 cloves of garlic in…sautee until garlic is fragrant and then toss in your baby spinach.

IMG 0797

Sautee the spinach until wilted.

Once most of the liquid has evaporated in the quinoa, add the 2 oz of goat cheese…I basically just split this pack in half. If you want to make it more decadent, you can use the whole 4 oz. I preferred a lighter dish.

IMG 0798

Once the goat cheese is melted into the quinoa, turn off heat and mix in your spinach. Voila!

IMG 0799

Quinoa never looks that appetizing to me in pictures but I promise is tasted delicious. I’m excited I had leftovers, you know what i’m having for lunch tomorrow!

Amusingly enough, I didnt even try goat cheese until a couple years ago…but i’ve been in love ever since. I’m thinking I might need to pick up a jumbo pack from Costco soon because it’s been wayyyy too long. 

Its supposed to rain tomorrow morning so I haven’t decided what my mileage will be tomorrow…either 4 or 6 miles. I was supposed to do 6 miles tempo tomorrow but I’d rather do it outside on Thursday if its going to be nice then be stuck on a treadmill doing it…so i’m debating switching it up and doing the 4 miles originally planned for Thursday instead. Gametime decision!

Tell me…

Are you a fan of goat cheese? If not, whats your favorite kind of cheese?

What was your workout today?

Do you like creating your own recipes better or following one instead?


