Tags

, , ,

I was happy to see that it wasn’t raining when I woke up this morning…and also happy that I wasn’t half asleep like when I woke up for speedwork last week! ๐Ÿ˜‰ My training schedule called for a 6 mile tempo run defined as the following: 1 mile warm up, 4 miles at a 9:41 pace, 1 mile cooldown. Amusingly enough, I’m pretty sure I found this run more tiring then last weeks 1600 repeats…at least with those, I got to recover inbetween but I was going for 4 miles constantly at this pace so it was a change. I did feel happy and accomplished by the end so I suppose thats saying something. I really do enjoy running with a clear purpose and goal in mind. I’m still baffled by the definition of a tempo run on the team-in-training schedule but I’m just going to go with the information i’ve been reading.ย 

I picked up these little beauties today:

IMG 4270

I found a really good recipe for homemade granola that I want to try out and it called for chia seed…despite that fact, I’ve actually been meaning to pick these up for a while. I was reading this article which gave some good insight into why a lot of runners consider it a superfood:

“Like many other types of seeds, chia seeds have numerous nutritional benefits that make them the perfect food for runner’s looking for a little something extra to help them push out those extra feet and miles. Chia seeds’ health benefits are especially good for distance runners to be exact. But you don’t have to be a runner or an athlete to rake in the benefits of this recently re-discovered superfood that is inexpensive, versatile, and fairly cheap as well.

Starting with the nutrition in the tiny seeds, health food enthusiasts will find a wealth of different vitamins and other beneficial compounds.

Many people have recognized the importance of Omega-3 fatty acids and chia seeds provide a strong natural source of them.

Chia seeds also contain a great deal of calcium, 18% in a typical serving of your daily value, along with over 40% of your daily value in fiber and other nutrients like iron and manganese in solid qualities.

The chia seed’s most unique quality, its ability to absorb water, is highly beneficial for runners as well.

Chia seeds can hold up to ten times their weight in water as they expand, and the water or other form of hydration will then be released more slowly and evenly into your system. This allows for maximum hydration, which is key when running long distances during a marathon or especially running in heat as runners lose more and more fluids through sweat while time goes on.

Chia seeds were used in the past by Aztec warriors in the field, who often were able to run for hours on end having eaten just the seeds along with water.”

I’m not really planning on dissolving them in water or anything, but I think they’d be a good nutritional punch to granola, yogurt, smoothies, etc!

Lunch today was leftover goat cheese and spinach food quinoa….tasted just as yummy reheated!

IMG 4271

Now don’t ask me why, but I was really craving steak for dinner tonight. Its very rarely that I do but when I am craving it I can’t get it out of my head until I eat it ๐Ÿ™‚ I know it wasnt because of the iron considering the spinach I consume all the time but…I knew Kevin wouldnt have an issue with that for dinner ๐Ÿ˜‰ย 

We threw steak on the grill and decided to make big salads out of it…I sliced up hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, grated fresh parmesan, roasted broccoli and then topped it with croutons and drizzled with Light Catalina dressing…I can’t even tell you how much this hit the spot:

IMG 4272

IMG 4273

IMG 4274

Nice big dose of protein, fiber and iron…loves it!!

I’m exhausted, today was a long day…my bed is calling to me already. Happy Hump Day everyone!

Tell me…

Whats your favorite source of protein?

Have you ever had chia seeds? Whats your favorite way to incorporate them?


