Tags

, , , , ,

Waking up at 6:30 on saturday morning didnt feel too bad to be honest…I thought it would be colder but it was a nice temperature when I started out. I felt really hot by the end of it even though it was only in the low 70s by the time I was done. 12 miles successful but I did make me and Kevin late for breakfast with Kevins family…I’m always running on Melendez time, which is at least 15 minutes late 😉

Kevin’s dad had to work on Fathers Day so they decided to all have breakfast together…anything that involves food is ok by me. Since I didn’t have time to ice I had to venture out in my compression socks…very sexy as you can imagine.  Chris (Kevin’s brother-in-law) hinted that he wanted a pair of my hot pink ones for Christmas…dont worry, we’ll take care of him 🙂

We also got to hang out with this little guy…although I dont think you can really describe those cheeks as little, but you get the picture..hehe

IMG 0237

Makes you just melt a little bit, doesnt it?

I had to drop Kev off at work shortly after but decided to be productive with my afternoon. I made a smores bake to bring to my parents for Sunday and also made something a little healthier…I had seen a recipe for a Peanut Butter Quinoa Granola on the Chobani blog recently and wanted to try it out with Almond Butter, so I modified it a little bit. I also doubled the recipe so I could have enough granola for the week…and I’m happy to say it came out AWESOME! A must try if you are into granola…its filled with awesome healthy ingredients so i’m pretty excited about it!

Ingredients:

¾ C cups rolled oats

1 Tbsp butter

¼ C cooked quinoa

2 Tbsp flaxseed meal

1 Tbsp ground chia seeds

¼ tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp salt

¼ C nuts, chopped (I used hazelnuts)

¼ C honey or maple syrup (I used my blackberry honey that I had on-hand!)

3 Tbsp nut butter (I used almond, obviously…I cant wait to try it out with other nut butters!)

I also sprinkled 2 tablespoons of coconut flakes on top after 10 minutes of baking, yum!

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325. In medium skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Add oats and toss until golden brown.

2. Transfer oats and butter mixture to medium mixing bowl. Add remaining ingredients, less honey and nut butter. Set aside.

3. Heat honey and nut butter in small saucepan until mixture reaches a boil, stirring consistently.

4. Fold honey/nut sauce into dry ingredients. Spread mixture evenly on lined or greased cookie sheet.

5. Cook for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. Let cool for at least 15 minutes. Loosen clusters and store in airtight container.

IMG 4286

IMG 4287

IMG 4290

IMG 4291

IMG 4292

Yup, I party hard on my saturday nights!

Sunday we headed up to my parents house since they were doing some BBQing for Fathers Day…I love getting to spend any time with my pops and the two crazy chihuahuas (we bought nacho up with us) so it was pretty much a perfect day. Love you Dad!!!

IMG 0247

IMG 0248

IMG 0251

IMG 0254

IMG 0255

My plate…notice the wonderful mound of tuna pasta salad?

IMG 0256

Kevins plate…he loves to eat pounds of my dads rice!

As we headed home we decided to add one more treat onto the 20 pounds of food we had already had:

IMG 0260

Ritas!! I had a swedish fish ice topped with vanilla gelato…and yep, there always room in my stomach for ice cream!

Hopping right back onto the healthy eating bandwagon…I got to try out my granola in a container of peach chobani today…DELICIOUS!

IMG 4294

This week is my “recovery” week in marathon training so no speedwork really…not gonna say I mind that part at all, haha. I did 6 easy miles after work.

I had no idea what I wanted for dinner and ended up assembling the most random wrap ever…olive hummus, mushrooms, baby spinach, leftover southwest quinoa salad and topped with hot sauce…um, it actually hit the spot and was tasty:

IMG 4296

I might have to have a quinoa intervention soon 😉

I’m undecided about my workout tomorrow, either spinning class or regular crosstraining, we shall see. I’m always undecided about my non-running days!

I wanna hear all about your weekend in the comments, do share!

