Tags

, , , ,

It’s officially summer! 

The sun was bright when my alarm went off at 5:15 but I woke up still feeling really beat…I rolled over to Kevin and mumbled that I was going to sleep in and run on my lunch break…it was one of those days! I’m usually super good about getting up but when I need the extra sleep, I know that as well. I felt good by the time I finally got up for work, so mission accomplished. 

I ran 5.66 miles on the treadmill during lunch..not exactly the 6 I was hoping for, but c’est la vie…close enough. I just hate it when I dont land on the .5 or .75 mile mark…maybe i’m a little neurotic 😉

Lunch was tuna on one of my whole wheat wraps with dijon mustard and spinach. I like my tuna really simple…I only add a small spoonful of light mayo and sprinkle salt and pepper. Voila, a healthy lunch…iron baby!

IMG 4303

Eaten with a side of cherries:

IMG 4304

We’ve been meaning to do something with the can of lentils we’ve had in our cabinet, so decided to do something a little different and made lentil tacos! I used this recipe and adapted a little since it called for dry lentils and I only had canned:

Lentil Tacos

  • 1 cup finely chopped onion (I used yellow)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 can lentils, 16 oz
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth (you can use veggie broth to make it vegetarian!)
In a large nonstick skillet, saute the onion and garlic in oil until tender. Add the lentils, chili powder, cumin and oregano; cook and stir for 1 minute. Add broth; bring to a boil.
Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Uncover; cook for 6-8 minutes or until mixture is thickened. Mash lentils slightly.
 
We had a variety of fixings on the side, including fire roasted guacamole…yum!
IMG 4306
IMG 4308
IMG 4310
IMG 4312
 

As sides, I busted out my huge Costco bag of frozen broccoli 🙂

IMG 4309

I sauteed some in olive oil and garlic, simple and my fave besides roasted broccoli of course.

IMG 4311

And to round it out, Kevin cut up the pineapple we had picked up at Costco as well…he threw it on the grill and we had wonderfully delicious grilled pineapple:

IMG 4305

IMG 4313

IMG 4314

Healthy, quick, and easy dinner…these kind are our favorites. This one is yet another keeper!

It’s ridiculously hot outside (97 degrees) so we are chillin in the AC for the rest of the night…until I head outside to melt for my morning run tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Tell me…

What are your must have taco fillings?

Do you like pineapple at all?

Favorite way to make broccoli?

