Tags

, , , ,

Sometimes even I have to laugh at myself when I say that “Oh…i’m only running 10 miles today, pretty easy!”…but in terms of marathon training, its definitely the truth. I was happy to get my 10 miles done and they are finally not feeling that hard…I say that because the long runs have definitely been touch and go since coming back from my injury, but i’m feeling good!

I love love love the Morningstar Black Bean Burgers but wanted to try something a little different on Saturday…Caroline was coming over to hang out for a bit and she’s vegetarian so i’m always looking for new vegetarian recipes to try out on her. I found this recipe for Black Bean Quinoa burgers and you KNOW I just had to do them especially since they involved quinoa! I adapted them slightly but they were seriously, hands down one of the best burgers I’ve ever tasted. This one will definitely be repeated!

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup minced yellow bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons minced onion
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (such as Frank’s RedHot®)
  • 1 egg
 

Directions

  1. Bring the quinoa and water to a boil in a saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until the quinoa is tender and the water has been absorbed, about 15 to 20 minutes.
  2. Roughly mash the black beans with a fork leaving some whole black beans in a paste-like mixture.
  3. Mix the quinoa, oats, bell pepper, onion, garlic, cumin, salt, hot pepper sauce, and egg into the black beans using your hands.
  4. Form the black bean mixture into 4 patties.

IMG 4343
IMG 4344
IMG 4345

I popped these into the fridge for a few hours before we decided to attempt cooking them..Kev threw them on the grill and being the stellar blogger that I am, I completely forgot to take a picture of the finished product but TRUST me, if you like black bean burgers, give these a try.

I was a busy little bee Saturday afternoon because right after I made the burgers, I started making a salad for Sunday. We were heading down to my mom’s cousins house for a BBQ and I wanted to bring a healthy side…so, I give you this recipe for Mediterranean Quinoa Salad 🙂 Kevin is working on a Quinoa Intervention for me, dont you worry.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  •  
  • 2 large cooked chicken breasts – cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 large red onion, diced
  • 1 large green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped kalamata olives
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
 

Directions

  1. Bring 2 cups chicken stock and 1 cup quinoa to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to simmer and heat for 15-20 minutes, or until all liquid is dissolved. 
  2. Gently stir the chicken, onion, bell pepper, olives, feta cheese, parsley, chives, and salt into the quinoa. Drizzle with the lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. Stir until evenly mixed. Serve warm or refrigerate and serve cold.

IMG 4346
IMG 4347

This recipe is seriously the perfect summer salad…so darn good, everyone really enjoyed it at the BBQ.

Sunday started off with what else? A trip to the diner 🙂
IMG 4348

We are always the picture of health around here.
The day was beautiful and we were excited to spend time with my mom’s family…Leeanna has a beautiful backyard and we enjoyed a FUN afternoon!! It was a blast getting to see her especially because we dont get to see her fabulous self very often. It’s definitely going down as one of my favorite sundays of Summer already 😉

IMG 4350
IMG 0802

 And yes, I have swimmies on. I can’t swim for the life of me and that, my friends, is why you will never see me doing a triathalon!

Me and Kev took off on Monday to take our car to be services and basically to have some relax time with each other…i won’t be able to really take off until much later in the summer so I wanted to enjoy a day to just unwind…mission accomplished. My day involved a 5 mile run…

FROYO!!
IMG 0803

Chili dogs shared between me and Kev…
IMG 0289

and time with the cheekiest godson on the planet:

IMG 0292
IMG 4352

We headed over to his sisters house after the dealership since her home is so closeby….we got to hang out with Gavin and Colin for the afternoon and then had dinner with them as well. As soon as we left, me and Kev both agreed that being a mom is SUCH tough work…His sister was all over the place with the both of them but still managed to cook dinner and keep semi-sane…I give mad props to all you moms out there, I’m pretty sure i’ll be completely pulling my hair out one day when I have my own kids…until then, its fun getting to hang around them for the day 😉

And with that, we started another week. I cant believe its the LAST weekend in June already…this summer is fabulous so far, but totally flying by. 
Tell me all about your weekend in the comments!


