Tags

, , ,

I’ve had a rough time of getting up in the morning to run this week, case in point the past two mornings. I grudgingly forced myself out of bed yesterday morning to run the 7 easy miles on my plan…its the same story each time. I feel like crap until the 1st mile is done with and then I’m happy to be up and out there πŸ˜‰ Running first thing in the morning is one of those things I have a serious love/hate relationship with…It always ends up good though, so I cant complain…I love it far more then I hate it!

One of the things I’ve been meaning to touch on is the concept of “Having fun but not throwing it all out the window”…its a phrase that has become my mantra in the past couple of years. When I was at the height of my eating disordered ways…I couldnt eat out, or eat anything for that matter if I didnt know the exact calorie count. I would literally refuse to really eat out or have fun in that aspect. You can imagine how anxiety ridden I would get when I would be invited to birthday dinners out, or really…anything that didnt involve my “safe” foods. Sounds crazy but its true. I’m glad that I’m completely different nowadays because how can you possibly live a fulfilling life like that…you cant! The whole point is that you just need to be smart when eating out, or planning your dinners.

For instance, I wanted to try out a new dinner this week…Aidells Chicken and Apple SausageΒ was on sale, so we picked it up. Kevin prepped them by placing each sausage in a foil package with chopped up onions and peppers. We also prepared Black bean and corn saladΒ to go with it…I also sauteed some broccoli in olive oil and garlic. So, the point is…I didnt count any of the calories in these things but we put together a healthy dinner that is balanced and thats all that matters to me πŸ™‚

IMG 4434

IMG 4435

I also ate mine with half a pita pocket on the side…yum! If you are a fan of sausage, try these out.

I woke up this morning, again, grudgingly…but did the 6 easy miles on my training plan. I also hit up the elliptical on my lunch break for a bit…I was definitely hungry by the time I got home from work. We planned to go out to dinner at Houlihans…another thing I found impossible to do when I was obsessive. The trick to eating out is not to throw it all out the window by ordering whatever you want…be smart about your choices. We started with the chicken lettuce wraps…so darn good!

IMG 4437

Kevin ordered the chicken fajitas for his meal:

IMG 4438

IMG 4439

I went for half a southwest chicken wrap (grilled chicken) with a side of steamed green beans…and a side salad with the balsamic dressing on the side. It came with a breadstick that I ate a bite out of but mostly left to the side:

IMG 4440

IMG 4441

Am I the picture of health 100% of the time…no! Do I try and make the best decisions I can and not guilt trip myself about them afterwards..absolutely! I am able to have fun with my meals but not go overboard with them…mosssttt of the time. πŸ˜‰

I have a crazy weekend ahead full of things to do, but i’m excited to share it all with you. Happy Thursday everyone!

Tell me…

Do you find it hard to go out to eat? What do you usually gravitate towards ordering?

Any fun plans coming up?


