Tags

, , , ,

Eggs and fro-yo do a body good because I felt strong for my workout this morning 😉 It’s probably also because I have been making a conscious effort to keep drinking water at night…I hate waking up feeling dehydrated, and it happens often to me. I drink so much water during work that sometimes I dont feel like chugging it down when I get home but its a must I suppose. I did 30 minutes on the stairclimber, 30 minutes on the arctrainer and 20 minutes upper body strength training. Amusingly enough I was reading an article in the July issue of Marie Claire about the workout routines of Olympic swimmers/gymnasts/tennis players/cyclers and I was amazed…they spoke of working out from morning to night…usually broken up with strength training, food breaks, etc. I struggle to get in 20 minutes a few times a week with marathon training and these ladies get in around 2 hours a day on top of their other workouts…puts things in perspective huh? 😉

I ran out of granola to throw into my Chobani, but these almonds are almost as good…I cant believe I’ve barely touched this container, but now we are thoroughly reacquainted!

IMG 4461

On the agenda tonight I had two must-haves…I had to make my favorite granola and I had to utilize some quinoa for my dinner. I am happy to say I successfully achieved both! I decided to adapt this recipe and make Garlic Parmesan Spinach Quinoa!

Garlic Parmesan Spinach Quinoa:

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 small onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic

2 cups of chicken broth (veggie broth would work wonderfully too)

1 cup uncooked quinoa

1/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese

In a medium pan, heat olive oil on medium-high heat. Toss in garlic and onion and saute until fragrant and onion slightly browns.

IMG 4462

Stir in quinoa and broth and turn the heat back up to high. Bring quinoa to a boil, then cover and turn heat to low. Simmer quinoa for around 15 minutes or until most water has absorbed. Toss in big handful of baby spinach and simmer for a few more minutes, until spinach wilts:

IMG 4463

Once all is mixed up, toss in parmesan and stir until melted. Enjoy 🙂

IMG 4465

Ohhhhh quinoa how I missed you!!

I’m a multi-tasker extraordinaire and made granola at the same time…I think this is my favoritest batch to date because it got nice and crunchy 🙂

IMG 4467

I have a 7 mile run on the training plan tomorrow and phew…its gonna be hot even at 5 am. 77 degrees! Not gonna lie, not looking forward to the run in the heat but we will see how it goes. 

Tell me…

What did you have for dinner tonight?

Are you a fan of almonds? Whats your favorite way to eat them?


