Tags

, , ,

The humidity and heat this morning was absolutely no joke…it was almost 80 by the time I got out there and you know whats worse then running in the humidity? Doing speedwork in humidity! My training plan had me doing 7 miles total…1 mile warmup, 5 miles at 9:40 and 1 mile cooldown. I tried my best to keep up with the pace, but not gonna lie…it was a really tough run. I was absolutely drenched by the time I got home but I was a trooper. I dont know how people in hotter states do this all the time, but kudos to you!

My weight has been sneaking up on me a little…Its time for me to rope myself in a little. I have to admit that i’ve been snacking a little too much and even when I’m not that hungry…I’m not going to count my calories, but I am going to make a more conscious effort to only eat when I’m hungry and to try and eat as healthy as possible. I’m not trying to lose weight or anything with marathon training but I would really like to at least maintain my weight.

Lunch today was a weird combination but turned out more delicious then I thought it would. I love it when that happens πŸ˜‰

I tried out this new Target brand hummus that I picked up yesterday and I’m pleased to say it was really good:

IMG 4469

I spread a small amount inside a pita pocket and stuffed the pita with some of the leftover quinoa from last night:

IMG 4468

I wasnt sure how it would taste but it was successful. I also had a cup of fresh cherries on the side πŸ™‚

Even though it was incredibly hot, humid and sunny throughout the day, it turned into complete darkness and gloom by the afternoon. We had some crazy thundershowers that finally cooled things down around here but didn’t fare too well with our idea to cook on the grill for dinner. Luckily it was lightly drizzling by the time I got home and Kev was still willing to grill. He had prepped shrimp kebabs with shrimp that had sat in an herb garlic marinade:

IMG 4472

On the side I prepped sweet potato fries to throw in the oven…I sliced up a large one and tossed them in 1 tablespoon of olive oil…then sprinkled them with sea salt, smoked paprika, cumin and a dash of cayenne and roasted them at 425 for 30 minutes:

IMG 4470

IMG 4471

IMG 4475

I also made a side of sauteed spinach…it turned out to be a healthy, filling dinner. Me and Kev were pretty happy with the results:

IMG 4476

I needed somethingΒ to dip the fries into so I chose some BBQ sauce.

I have 5 miles on the training plan for tomorrow but I’m happy to see that it will be much cooler tomorrow morning, thank gosh. Its been a crazy week at work and I’m more then ready to get to bed already. I’m such a party animal.

Tell me…

What are on your favorite kind of kebabs?

Is it crazy weather where you live?

Are you a fan of hummus at all?


