Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday morning cooled down significantly from the terribleness of Weds, but it was still pretty darn humid out. Humidity is the worst! I did 5 miles easy. I also did the elliptical on my lunch break. We have our sales conference this week at my job so unfortunately I couldnt head straight home to hang out with Kev…I had to put some time in at the vendor show. By the time I got home, we definitely knew we wanted to grab something easy for dinner. Kev wanted to see the redesign of the new Chili’s near us so we headed there for dinner.

It looks pretty cool now, a lot of TVs, a very updated look and feel to the place. I ordered the grilled chicken salad, which is my usual order there:

IMG 4477

Kev had the ribs…I think he’s as big fan of ribs like i’m a big fan of wings…I’ve noticed how often he orders them when we go out!

IMG 4478

Chill date nights are my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

I woke up for spinning and boy did it kick my booty. My spinning instructor is a beast when it comes to our classes. I also did a full 25 minutes of core strength training…I have a feeling I’m going to wake up tomorrow morning veryย sore.

Speaking of tomorrow morning…I’m a little afraid of the fact that I have 14 miles on the training plan tomorrow. This will be the longest run I will tackle since my injury. I remember thinking pre-injury like nothing could hurt me…that I would rock whatever distance I would tackle. A part of me is terrified that I wont finish…but I cant let that overtake my thoughts. The only way I can conquer it is to actually do it.ย 

Kev and I were discussing how I tackle the long runs mentallyย the other night. I know that it seems like long distance running is all about being physically fit and to an extent it is…but so much of it is mental. You have to believe in yourself and know that you are strong and can do it. I was joking that I also play jedi mind tricks on myself…I never think about the long distances all at once, it seems SO daunting that way. I break my run into sections in my head. So if i’m running 12 miles, I’ll tell myself that I’m running 2 6 mile runs…it never seems that crazy that way. I’ve never really told anyone this either…but I pray a lot when I run as well. I pray to my grandmother, to my cousin, to many people that I love that I have lost. I believe they give me strength to do anything I put my mind to. With marathon training, especially since i’m doing it with Team-in-Training, I think a lot about what Kevin went through with his cancer and for all the children and adults that are battling cancer. It always puts things in perspective for me.

Soooo…14 miles here I come, i’m gonna kick butt on this run!

My friday nights usually consist of listening to music and cleaning…especially with my long training runs on saturdays all I want to do is relax! I was excited to spin my new vinyl tonight:

IMG 4481

IMG 4484

I preordered this album and was so excited to see it come in yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚ Made for great listening!

I snacked on some hummus and pretzels when I got home, I was hungry but not yet ready for dinner..

IMG 4480

You wanna know why Kevin is so awesome sometimes? I came home to my clothes folded…now thats service:

IMG 4479

Mostly workout clothes…thats how I roll ๐Ÿ˜‰

For dinner, I decided on a sweet potato literally almost the size of my head:

IMG 4488

IMG 4489

Its been way too long since I’ve had just a plain baked sweet potato, well not plain exactly…I definitely needed some butter and cinnamon ๐Ÿ˜‰

…I think its going to be excellent fuel for tomorrow!

Its time for this girl to unwind with her book and get ready for bed soon. Have a great friday!

Tell me…

Whats a big fear you’ve faced recently?

What are your favorite sweet potato toppings?

Any good plans for the weekend?

