Tags

, ,

I’m not kidding when I say that this morning was the perfect morning for running. It was 60 and nice and breezy out…perfection. I did 7.5 miles tempo, 1 mile warmup, 5 miles @ 9:38 and 1.5 mile cooldown. Its so much more fun to do speedwork when you arent choking on humidity. 😉

I wore my compression socks to work under my jeans…I felt sneaky until I blew up my spot in front of my coworkers by taking a picture of my socks. I’m sure they dont find me weird at all…

IMG 4513

Looking weird is worth it, I love how well these work!

I want to talk a little bit about what I like to call the comparison trap. I read a lot of different running blogs (on top of being obsessed with RunnersWorld.com) and sometimes I can’t help but feel that my mileage is seriously lacking. I think back to this time last year and I was doing 40 MPW and felt strong and awesome. Now that i’m in marathon training my miles are between 27-32 MPW so far. It can be really hard not to compare myself to last year or to the people on different blogs. Its easy to feel small when you are reading about someone doing 60 MPW. I have to tell myself to step back and think about how far i’ve come since being injured. I remember the feeling of barely being able to run at all. I’m so glad I’m taking it slow and ensuring I dont push myself too hard. I want to finish this marathon and make it to the start line injury free. Its easy to fall into the comparison trap with many different things…sometimes I compare myself to other people who eat clean and healthy 100% of the time. I know my eating isnt 100% healthy and its hard not to feel the pressure to eat better…but I also know myself and I need some treats in my life or i’d go crazy 😉

The moral of the story is that everybody is different and different things work for different people. Some people are built for high mileage and don’t get injured…i just dont think i’m one of those people. I’ve spent a long time building my base and it has definitely come in handy when it comes to marathon training, so i’m very grateful for that.

Kev and I decided to make turkey stuffed peppers again but this time with a decent recipe. We used the wonderful Annette’s recipe, just slightly moderated.

Turkey Stuffed Bell Peppers

Ingredients

  • 1 package lean ground turkey
  • 4 bell peppers
  • 1 cup lentils (dry)
  • 4 Garlic and Herb Laughing Cow cheese wedges
  • 3/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1 Tb garlic
  • 1/3 cup salsa
  • 2 Tb Italian herb seasoning
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 slices of cheese (we used pepper jack on 2 and swiss on two)

Directions

  • Cook chopped onions, garlic in the olive oil until onions turn translucent.
  • Add in lean ground turkey. Cook until almost done.
  • At that point, add in salsa, seasoning, and salt.
  • Cook lentils on stovetop as directed.
  • Meanwhile, chop bell pepper so that there is an open part on top (I did mine sideways-so that works too!)
  • Right when lentils are done, add the cheese wedges to the turkey mixture and stir well.
  • Drain the lentils, and add the lentils to the turkey/cheese mixture.
  • Once the oven is preheated (325), fill each bell pepper with the turkey/lentil/cheese mixture.
  • Bake for 25 minutes, and then add 1 slice Pepper Jack cheese to each pepper. Bake for 5 minutes more.

IMG 0462

IMG 0463

IMG 0468

IMG 0469

IMG 0474

We also made a salad on the side with spinach, italian blend lettuce, olives, tomatoes, broccoli and a sprinkling of croutons.

IMG 0473

I drizzled mine with a little Light Catalina dressing…seriously yummy and filling dinner!

IMG 4514

It’s perfect timing to be a lump on the couch. I have 5 miles easy on the plan tomorrow, I’m hoping the weather is as wonderful as yesterday!

Happy Hump Day!

Tell me…

Do you ever find yourself in the comparison trap? How do you handle it?


