Tags

, ,

I went to sleep at a crazy late time of 9 pm last night..I sure know how to do it up on Monday nights!

Why is it sometimes that even on a full night of sleep I wake up tired? I was still sleepy when I woke up for my morning workout. Maybe if I went to sleep at 7 pm that might solve the problem? I’m tempted sometimes πŸ™‚ I did 30 minutes on the stairclimber, 30 minutes on the elliptical and 15 minutes of upper body weights.

It’s making me incredibly happy to have a fridge full of containers like these:

IMG 4591

Me and Kev picked up cantaloupe and honeydew over the weekend because it was on super sale. I swear, I could eat a whole honeydew myself. Kevin knows me too well because he hasn’t even tried touching it since I cut it up…he’s learned well πŸ˜‰

I decided to spin an old album tonight that I could honestly say really influenced me and changed my life:

IMG 4593

You might laugh at this, but let me explain myself first.

I’ve always been into music, but I suppose you could say I’ve been through stages. I listened to a lot of R&B and hip hop growing up…think Mariah Carey, Boyz II Men…Notorious B.I.G. πŸ˜‰ I didnt start branching off into my favorite branch of alternative music until I got to high school…I was introduced and listened to a bunch of different bands…Goo Goo Dolls, Blink 182, Nirvana…Foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins…when I got into college, I barely listened to new music. I focused instead of listening to a lot of Pink Floyd, Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Dispatch….and then of course the wonderful pop songs that frequented the frat parties that we would attend.

When I graduated college and moved back home, I went through a sort of funk when I moved home…I felt like something was missing but didn’t quite know what it was. On a whim, I bought a few Fall Out Boy albums since my brother was obsessed with them and I had heard good things. It was then that I completely became obsessed with any music I could get my hands on. I opened up to find so many of my favorite bands…besides Fall Out Boy. I was listening to everything from the Hush Sound to Academy Is…to Hellogoodbye and Say Anything. This album is a symbol to me of how I rediscovered just how much I love listening to and finding new music. I listen to honestly everything nowadays. FOB isnt around today and who knows…maybe they’ll get back together someday. Until then, I’ll spin their vinyls, I’ll remember the ridiculously fun concerts I attended (and there were MANY of them)…and I can always look at the tattoo on my right arm since its an FOB lyric from one of my favorite songs πŸ˜‰ I don’t listen to as much of them anymore but I should!Β I listen to a lot more of Say Anything because thats the band that helped me through the very scary and dark place I was in after me and my ex-fiance had broken up…and they are also the band that brought me and Kevin closer because I got him into them and we both love them to death. I also got Kev into FOB but since they aren’t making new music anytime soon…well πŸ˜‰ Β Its nice to be nostalgic once in a while.

I love to ramble on a little too much, obviously.

On another lovely random note, I saw this in Target today and it made me laugh:

IMG 4589

I personally like drinking from a wine glass but to each their own I suppose!

Dinner was a random concoction of ingredients…I heated up this edamame that I picked up at Target:

IMG 4590

I seriously don’t eat this enough, its delicious. I threw 1/2 cup into quinoa that I had simmered with chicken stock…along with a large handful of spinach and a sprinkling of freshly grated parmesan:

IMG 4592

Voila, random healthy but yummy dinner πŸ™‚

I have 7 miles of speedwork on the training plan tomorrow…its cooled down a bit but of course, will be super humid again tomorrow morning. We’ll see how this goes….I wonder when I’ll ever catch a break, haha.

Tell me…

What are some of your favorite bands or musicians?Β 

Has your taste of music changed over time?


