Tags

, , , , ,

In hindsight, it probably would’ve been a better idea on Friday night to chug water instead of chugging down a can of diet root beer. One of those hard lessons learned. I didnt feel great when I woke up at 5:15 am on Saturday…my best guess is that I was slightly dehydrated. It WAS nice and cool out though so I had hope that my 20 miler would go over okay. I felt blah for the first hour of the run and then I finally got into the groove and it went well! I was so happy to finish and know that I won’t have to run that far again until the actual marathon. 20 milers aren’t that fun but they definitely give you pride in your abilities!

I had to rush around when I got home since we had an appointment to view another wedding venue in Princeton at 12:00. I hopped into the ice bath and hobbled around after trying to get ready as quickly as possible. We were a little late picking up my mother in law and then we ran into traffic but we only ended up being 15 minutes late in the end. There’s a running joke that my family runs on “Melendez time”…ever since we were little my dad has been late for things and us as a family have been late for things, haha. I can say that I definitely run on Melendez time at least 75% of the time. Mama Schaible, not so much πŸ˜‰ I hope that becoming a Schaible might rub off on me so that I can actually be punctual…but ahh, it might be one of those things stuck to me for life πŸ˜‰ The venue we saw was nice but we ruled it out since there were more cons in our minds then there was pros. It was awesome though because we all got to have lunch together…my mom and dad, Kevin, his mom and me. We don’t get to do that often but it made me so incredibly happy to have both of our families mingling…and honestly, it feels so comfortable and its good knowing that our families get along so well already!

We headed home and got ready because I had tickets to my sorority’s 10 year reunion Saturday night! It was great because Kevin took off of work to come with me and we had a blast…It was held in a club in downtown New Brunswick so the drinks were pouring and there was food as well. Dancing too except that i’m a horrible dancer so I didn’t partake in that portion too much πŸ˜‰ It was awesome to see girls that I hadnt seen in years…we seriously had such a blast in college together and it was like things never changed:

IMG 4738

IMG 4739

(Me and my big sister!!)

IMG 4740

IMG 0620

IMG 0628

IMG 0631

IMG 0627

Tons of excitement in one day πŸ™‚

Suffice to say, I was more then ready to crash when we got home later on.Β 

We woke up early as well on Sunday since we had a 10:30 am appointment to see another venue in Morristown. This time, Kevin’s aunt, his mom, my sister and my mom and dad came with us to view it as well. It was quite a crew that we had going on, haha. I had briefly seen this venue months ago since we had brunch there for my sister-in-law’s birthday in February. It also happens to be the place that she and her husband got married back in 2007. AND his cousin and his wife got married there as well. I had told Kevin I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about it considering it’d be the third time someone in his family got married there…but the minute we stepped inside I just knew that it was what I wanted. I knew that it would probably end up coming down to the place we saw last sunday (Olde Mill Inn) and this place (The Madison Hotel) but I wasn’t sure about anything until that moment. It comforted me because I was scared I wouldn’t feel that way about ANY of the places! I liked the Olde Mill Inn but I wasn’t entirely in LOVE with it. Kevin was, and he would’ve been more than happy with either location. I knew that his mom really wanted us to choose the Madison but at the same time she’s amazing because throughout the whole process has never said that to us once…she came with us to every location and made it known that in the end, it was really up what we wanted. The look on my moms face though totally cemented my decision because she was just so happy with it. I’m so so incredibly excited and happy and it’s awesome that both of our families are thrilled as well.

BUT despite the fact that I knew that this was it we still had another appointment later on at 2 pm at a venue in Somerset so we knew we had to do our due diligence and attend πŸ˜‰ In between appointments we got to stop over my sister in law’s house and catch up and hang out. Pizza was had and my bottomless stomach was in full swing due to the previous day’s activities…haha. It was a nice little break and lunch, love getting to see our nephews!!

The next venue was really nice and affordable…but it really wasn’t our style at all. It was a little over the top for my taste…I’m not into the whole grand winding staircase and sparkly decor thing. I can see why people easily book there but it just wasn’t for us. ANDDD so our decision was made! When we talked to the manager at the Madison, he offered us a little break on pricing when I asked him if Labor Day weekend next year was open (it was). The only issue was talking to our church because we’d get the best deal if we booked it on Sunday, Sept 1st…but we weren’t sure of the availability church-wise. Kevin called our church today and unfortunately the church wasn’t available that day 😦 We were both disappointed but oh well, what can you really do. We decided on Saturday, August 31st instead and booked the church…so YAY our date is officially 8/31/13!!!

I’m just a little excited πŸ™‚ At least all the excitement kind of numbed the pain we had when the Jets lost last night…lol

I wasn’t sure how my run was going to go today since I still felt slightly sore from Saturday. Happy to say it went well!! I swear, pizza and wings make the best running fuel. (YES, wings were had for dinner last night. LOVE football season!!) 5 miles were done and done.

Dont tell Kevin but I stole a little something for my snack today…

IMG 4742

Ssshhhh its just between me and you ok?

The best way to celebrate setting your wedding date?

IMG 4745

Leftover wings from last night. I’m pretty sure my life is pretty darn perfect right now.

Tell me about your weekend in the comments!

