Tags

, , , ,

If you can believe it, one of the big issues that kept me back from signing up from a full marathon is gaining weight. Its a common occurrence to end up a the finish line with a couple extra pounds on you.

Let me back track..when I first started running, I still wasn’t truly eating enough for my activity levels. It was impossible to keep up that lifestyle because quite simply, I was starving all the time with the running, When I trained for my first half marathon, I started eating tons more then normal because I didn’t really know how to deal with the hunger that I was feeling with the increase in mileage. That has always been a problem for me. I DO get very hungry when I get into higher mileage. I was trying to teach myself how to each properly for a runner and ended up overdoing it. It was a good thing though, because my body needed to put on a few extra pounds. Its obvious that this is where my body is happy at for now.ย 

I knew that with marathon training, my hunger could spiral out of control again. I can’t tell you how glad I am that I waited to train for a few half marathons before I even considered registering for a full one. I slowly learned as I became a more experienced runner how to fuel myself properly and listen to my hunger cues accurately. Even though I became injured because I overdid it, i’m glad I pushed my boundaries because it taught me an important lesson on listening to my body. My strategy for this marathon was to focus on making very smart decisions nutrition-wise. I know junk pops up from time to time on the blog but I don’t show you guys even half of what i’m eating most of the time. I have focused on eating lots of protein (eggs, greek yogurt, meats, quinoa) and lots of healthy fats (almonds, nuts, nut butter, avocado) instead of just focusing on carbs (bagels, breads, pasta). It has worked incredibly well for me. I never feel hungry and I feel strong during my runs. I dont eat healthy 100% of the time but what I do works well for me. I did see a little weight gain in the beginning but I was coming off of being injured so I wasn’t doing really well in the weight department anyway. Now i’m at the weight I usually am, even a little bit on the lower side of the range. That makes me happy ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel great that I can read my hunger cues pretty well by now! I’m sure i’ll feel a little crazy during taper time…but i’m thrilled that so far, I’ve managed to maintain instead of gaining.

I honestly don’t even know if i’ll be one of those brides that is like “I have to diet, I have to drop a few pounds before I get into my wedding dress”. Right now is the most comfortable I’ve been with my body in a long time so I could seriously slip into a wedding dress today and feel happy. I’ll try to be healthy but won’t drive myself crazy trying to look perfect. At least..I say that now ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can tease me if I start acting nutty laterย 

In other news, I ran 7.5 miles this morning and it didn’t rain out!! It was dark though, so I felt a little anxious. I do live in a safe town but you can never be too careful…might have to start hitting up the treadmill again in the mornings ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I had no idea what I felt like having for lunch today so decided to wing it…I ended up stopping at Subway and grabbing a 6 inch turkey and cheese sub with lots of peppers, olives..etc..:

IMG 4760

I’m not the biggest fan of Subway (Their sandwiches honestly aren’t that fulfilling to me…I do give them kudos for being a healthy place) but this hit the spot today for some reason.

I munched on a nectarine as my side:

IMG 4761

I was doing some browsing of wedding pictures and colors today and I felt a little inspired. I think I have some good ideas for my color scheme…so I called my sister and we were laughing since both of us have been dreaming all week about everything wedding. We are both nutty ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think we’ll come up with tons of crafty ideas together though! (I’m all about saving as much money as I can)

Dinner tonight was random because again, our food is scarce around here. We are desperately in need of a food shopping trip…

IMG 4762

Southwest egg beaters with cheddar on a sandwich thin and a heaping side of broccoli.

I have tons of things to do still…important things like wedding organizing and X factor watching ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good night everyone!!

