Tags

, , ,

I actually realized today that i’m not entirely sure if i’ve described what a taper actually is to those who aren’t into running…although you can probably taper with other sports too!

Tapering is a period for runners before a race (usually distance running) in which we lower our mileage and give ourselves time to relax and recover…which is usually easier said then done. It’s common for runners to go through “taper madness”…a crazy feeling of restlessness because we aren’t that used to actually relaxing and not running or being active. I’ve done short tapers for half marathons and they’ve driven me crazy. I’m cool as a cucumber when it comes to this taper…I know my body really needs this rest. I’ve surprised myself in that way, haha. I went to bed at 10 pm last night and still felt sleepy when I woke up at 7:20…I guess this is probably what my coach was talking about…my body is definitely tired and needs some TLC. I can only hope that i’m feeling strong and energetic on that finish line Saturday morning. So for one of the first times in a while, I didn’t work out at all today, not even cross-training I’m still hungry as if i’m logging high mileage, which is the funny part.Ā 

That brings me to my next point…how will my diet look this week? I’ve been told to eat as if i’m still running tons so that my body starts to store the glycogen it needs in my muscles. Its not the typical “carb-loading” that you might think of. I’m not eating pounds of pasta and rolls. I dont have to focus on getting some extra carbs in until 3 days out. So Thursday-Saturday I will focus on making sure i’m not eating fibrous foods and I will eat white, starchy breads instead of the whole wheat ones. Something like oatmeal for breakfast, a turkey sandwich on white bread for lunch and possibly fish and white rice for dinner. We are going to a pizza dinner with TNT on Friday night so I am definitely looking forward to that…I may or may not say that one of my main motivations for running the Chicago Marathon is the infamous deep dish pizza šŸ˜‰

Todays lunch was an almond butter and banana sandwich with honey drizzled inside:

IMG 0896

And a sadly, disappointing peach šŸ˜¦ Didn’t taste quite right:

IMG 0897

On my lunch break I stopped and picked up a long sleeve tech shirt to layer with on Sunday…looks like its going to be in the low 40s come marathon morning!

IMG 4786

(I know you are loving the green couch with the purple shirt, hotness)

I also stocked up on shot blocks, these are definitely a must for the race:

IMG 4787

We bought these just last Thursday and you can guess which one of us made the biggest dent in them…

IMG 4788

IMG 4789

I’d say its probably a tie for me and Kev šŸ˜‰ Optimal running fuel for me…optimal couch surfing fuel for him.

I seem to have been replaced as his favorite cuddler:

IMG 0894

The man loves his chihuahuas, what can I say?

Tomorrow is 4 miles on the agenda…woo-hoo, I’m loving these short runs. After tomorrow I basically will be resting until Saturday, then I have a quick 2 mile shakeout run on Saturday morning with my TNT teammates…I’m pretty psyched to finally meet all of them.

Hope your week is going well so far, I know mine is going to fly by like whoa!!

