Tags

, ,

Yeah, that whole getting up at 5 am to work out thing hasn’t been happening that much this week. Yesterday I chose to run on my lunch break instead. It works out perfectly since i’m still taking it slow with the running this week. I did 5 miles on my lunch break both yesterday and today. I’m feeling much more like my normal self. I’m happy just running to run right now and not be on any particular training schedule. As the Brooks running logo says…”Run happy!!”

I just want to state the fact that honeycrisp apples are by far the best apples ever:

IMG 4883

We took a trip to Costco today and I was hoping to buy a tray of these since the ones from Costco are HEAVEN but I couldn’t bring myself to pay 14.99 for a batch of them 😦 I hope the prices go down before they go completely out of season! I’ll probably pick some up from the supermarket to make Kevin a homemade apple pie for his birthday this weekend πŸ™‚

I DID end up picking up these from Costco:

IMG 4885

I love how I say I can’t bring myself to spend 14.99 on apples but I spent 10.99 on this bag of nuts that I’ve never tried. I think my rationality was that at least these will keep better longer πŸ˜‰ That and Sahale nuts are the BEST nuts ever. They are my honeycrisp of nuts πŸ˜‰

I’ll let you know the verdict as soon as I tear into these babies.

Kevin and I really wanted to use the crockpot for a meal this week so we tried out a new recipe! We have an ultimate favorite chili recipe but that one is done in the dutch oven and isn’t the healthiest. I wanted to try a healthier version of chili so we used this recipe only a little modified.Β 

INGREDIENTS:
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 pound ground turkey
1(10.75 ounce) can low sodium tomato
soup
1 can diced tomatoes with chili peppers
1(15 ounce) cans kidney beans, drained
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained
1/2 medium onion, chopped
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
1/2 tablespoon ground cumin
1 pinch ground black pepper
1 pinch ground allspice
salt to taste
DIRECTIONS:
1. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Place turkey in the skillet, and cook until evenly brown; drain.
2. Coat the inside of a slow cooker with cooking spray, and mix in turkey, tomato soup, kidney beans, black beans and onion. Season with chili powder, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, cumin, black pepper, allspice and salt.
3.

Cover, and cook 8 hours on Low or 4 hours on High.

IMG 4884

I healthified mine even more with a teaspoon of light sour cream and shredded cheddar πŸ˜‰

IMG 4886

Served with my last Goose Island beer from last weekend. If you ever see this one around, pick it up, its delicious! (and reminds me of Chi-town!!)

IMG 4887


I love these kind of meals during fall πŸ™‚

Β 

Woohoo, almost the weekend!

